Skip to main content
added 97 characters in body
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes after the Chrome launch. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

The task manager of Chrome only shows "Browser" as using most of the CPU. Extensions use <5% of CPU.

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.451545 15.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate. Updating to Google Chrome Version 92.0.4515.131 (Official Build) (64-bit) didn't fix the issue.

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes after the Chrome launch. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

The task manager of Chrome only shows "Browser" as using most of the CPU. Extensions use <5% of CPU.

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.4515.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes after the Chrome launch. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

The task manager of Chrome only shows "Browser" as using most of the CPU. Extensions use <5% of CPU.

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.45 15.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate. Updating to Google Chrome Version 92.0.4515.131 (Official Build) (64-bit) didn't fix the issue.

added 108 characters in body
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes after the Chrome launch. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

The task manager of Chrome only shows "Browser" as using most of the CPU. Extensions use <5% of CPU.

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.4515.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.4515.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes after the Chrome launch. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

The task manager of Chrome only shows "Browser" as using most of the CPU. Extensions use <5% of CPU.

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.4515.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1422119990124322821
Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

Why is Chrome using 1.5 CPU cores even though I just started my computer and only opened Chrome (didn't go on any website yet)?

I just started my computer. I opened Chrome but didn't go on any website yet. However, Chrome is continuously using 1.5 CPU cores, even after I waited >10 minutes. Why?

Demo:

enter image description here

Windows Task Manager details:

enter image description here

Chrome was continuously using 1.5 CPU cores even before I opened the Chrome Task Manager.

Google Chrome is up to date: Version 92.0.4515.107 (Official Build) (64-bit). I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.