Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link

According to the Arch Wiki installation guide, the recommended size of the EFI partition is at least 260 MiB. Nevertheless, every dual boot installation guide I saw doesn't even touch the question of the EFI partition's size and uses Windows' 100 MiB one.

At the same time, I've read that there should be exactly one EFI partition on the same disk. Without knowing it, I installed Arch many times creating a separate EFI partition for it and everything was fine. I just had to change the boot order (or use the boot menu) to boot into the needed system.

So what's the right way to install a dual boot system?

According to the Arch Wiki installation guide, the recommended size of the EFI partition is at least 260 MiB. Nevertheless, every dual boot installation guide I saw doesn't even touch the question of the EFI partition's size and uses Windows' 100 MiB one.

At the same time, I've read that there should be exactly one EFI partition on the same disk. Without knowing it, I installed Arch many times creating a separate EFI partition for it and everything was fine. I just had to change the boot order (or use the boot menu) to boot into the needed system.

So what's the right way to install dual boot system?

According to the Arch Wiki installation guide, the recommended size of the EFI partition is at least 260 MiB. Nevertheless, every dual boot installation guide I saw doesn't even touch the question of the EFI partition's size and uses Windows' 100 MiB one.

At the same time, I've read that there should be exactly one EFI partition on the same disk. Without knowing it, I installed Arch many times creating a separate EFI partition for it and everything was fine. I just had to change the boot order (or use the boot menu) to boot into the needed system.

So what's the right way to install a dual boot system?

Source Link

Windows Linux UEFI dual boot: does EFI partition need resizing?

According to the Arch Wiki installation guide, the recommended size of the EFI partition is at least 260 MiB. Nevertheless, every dual boot installation guide I saw doesn't even touch the question of the EFI partition's size and uses Windows' 100 MiB one.

At the same time, I've read that there should be exactly one EFI partition on the same disk. Without knowing it, I installed Arch many times creating a separate EFI partition for it and everything was fine. I just had to change the boot order (or use the boot menu) to boot into the needed system.

So what's the right way to install dual boot system?