Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Thanks so much for the easy-to-understand explanation! I will try that and already tried parts of it. Right now the ASUS router only has internet connectivity if I connect it on the WAN port. When I plug the cable coming from the modem into the ASUS' LAN I don't have internet access. Not sure why though?
    – Clms
    Commented Jun 23, 2021 at 14:12
  • 1
    Be sure to follow all the steps and connect LAN port to LAN port. Do not use the ASUS WAN port in this setup.
    – anon
    Commented Jun 23, 2021 at 15:21
  • Thanks so much, I will follow the instructions next week and will update you.
    – Clms
    Commented Jun 24, 2021 at 7:46
  • I tried it exactly like described, there is one issue: if I set the ASUS to "router-mode", it only works if connected to the WAN port (with package loss). If I connect it to the LAN, I won't have an internet connection (it looks for a modem, not a modem+router to be connected to). If I set the router to "AP-Mode" (connected via LAN port) it works but most of the ASUS functionality (Firewall, etc) is disabled. What am I supposed to do? Thanks!
    – Clms
    Commented Jul 4, 2021 at 8:19
  • I think at this point you should try a different router. This should be straightorward with any ordinary router. You might ask ASUS support to see if you have the correct device for the situation.
    – anon
    Commented Jul 4, 2021 at 10:28