Skip to main content
Clarify title, remove technically incorrect "DOS" part
Source Link
gronostaj
  • 57.5k
  • 21
  • 128
  • 185

CMD prompt window pops up and instantly disappears periodically

Windows 10 - Every 10 minutes or so, a cmd prompt, (or little black DoScommand line window) flashes on my computer. I'm afraid I may have been infected by something. I've been staring at the Task Manager (and process explorer) for days, and can't narrow it down to what is causing this. I've tried MSconfig to check the startup programs- nothing seems out of the ordinary. I've used Malwarebytes, and ran Tron Script once, and installed all the new windows updates, in hopes it would fix the problem, but it still persists.

I may have downloaded something.

Is there a way to check the Event Viewer to see what is launching this window?

CMD prompt window pops up and instantly disappears

Windows 10 - Every 10 minutes or so, a cmd prompt, (or little black DoS window) flashes on my computer. I'm afraid I may have been infected by something. I've been staring at the Task Manager (and process explorer) for days, and can't narrow it down to what is causing this. I've tried MSconfig to check the startup programs- nothing seems out of the ordinary. I've used Malwarebytes, and ran Tron Script once, and installed all the new windows updates, in hopes it would fix the problem, but it still persists.

I may have downloaded something.

Is there a way to check the Event Viewer to see what is launching this window?

CMD prompt window pops up and instantly disappears periodically

Windows 10 - Every 10 minutes or so, a command line window flashes on my computer. I'm afraid I may have been infected by something. I've been staring at the Task Manager (and process explorer) for days, and can't narrow it down to what is causing this. I've tried MSconfig to check the startup programs- nothing seems out of the ordinary. I've used Malwarebytes, and ran Tron Script once, and installed all the new windows updates, in hopes it would fix the problem, but it still persists.

I may have downloaded something.

Is there a way to check the Event Viewer to see what is launching this window?

Nothing to do with MS-DOS, MS-DOS hasn't been in Windows since XP.
Link

CMD prompt (little black dos window) pops up and instantly disappears

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1404815997115240454
Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
boscher50
  • 601
  • 1
  • 6
  • 11

CMD prompt (little black dos window) pops up and instantly disappears

Windows 10 - Every 10 minutes or so, a cmd prompt, (or little black DoS window) flashes on my computer. I'm afraid I may have been infected by something. I've been staring at the Task Manager (and process explorer) for days, and can't narrow it down to what is causing this. I've tried MSconfig to check the startup programs- nothing seems out of the ordinary. I've used Malwarebytes, and ran Tron Script once, and installed all the new windows updates, in hopes it would fix the problem, but it still persists.

I may have downloaded something.

Is there a way to check the Event Viewer to see what is launching this window?