Skip to main content

Timeline for Dell T3600 Front Panel Issue

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 11, 2021 at 19:03 comment added Lzypenguin I did not find a resolution. My bounty expired and you put the most effort into helping so i awarded it to you. I am just using the computer without the front panel plugged in and shutting it down and unplugging the power cable everyday, since sometimes when I shut it down the fans kick on and run full speed until the power is removed... No clue what else to even try.
Apr 2, 2021 at 13:26 comment added gregg @Lzypenguin kind of curious how you fixed exactly? Never heard the resolution, yet got the credit so I feel dirty lol
Apr 1, 2021 at 22:04 history bounty ended CommunityBot
Apr 1, 2021 at 21:47 vote accept Lzypenguin
Mar 26, 2021 at 21:34 comment added gregg Thanks for upvote. From what you say you've narrowed it down to a small subset of parts. The easiest thing to try is to replace ALL of them at once to see if the problem is resolved. If it is you know its one of those parts so swap in each of the questionable original parts until you find the problematic one, if you care. With all this swap-a-roo I'd MARK the questionable parts EACH with a post-it note saying that & held with tape. If you can't swap them all out at once, then I'd start looking closely at the connectors/connections on each cable/part end
Mar 26, 2021 at 21:10 comment added Lzypenguin Gregg, I am on Bios version A18. I have upvoted your comment because I do find it very helpful. I have taken a photo of the connector and zoomed in, as well as checked the old connector I took off, and everything looks perfect. No issues at all. I am happy to remove things 1 by 1 again, but I am not sure where else to start, or what to try. I am using the same ram chips, in the same exact slots from a working computer, as well as the same HD's and GPU. The only things besides those are the front panel USB cable, the front panel Audio jack, and the 3 front panel fans.
Mar 25, 2021 at 19:56 comment added gregg ...the front panel connector on the motherboard? Maybe all this swap-a-roo damaged a gold contact? Taking a picture with a digital cam will allow zooming for closer inspection. To get BIOS version in Windows: wmic bios list brief. Feel free to give my answer an upvote since you appeared to appreciate my answer. Obviously you don't have to accept it AS the answer if it doesn't solve you problem, which it seems to have not...yet ;)
Mar 25, 2021 at 19:55 comment added gregg 2-you indicated you swapped parts one by one with a working PC, which is a good idea. However I don't think you ever indicated when you removed EVERYTHING that's not absolutely necessary & try to power on, add connections one-by-one in between power. This may INDEED be pointless since you SEEM to have narrowed it down to the front panel connector. What doesn't make sense is you've tried another motherboard, front, panel, & front panel cable yet the issue persists. Thus I HAVE to assume you didn't replace those all at once so the problem must exist in one of those parts. Have you examined...
Mar 25, 2021 at 19:22 comment added Lzypenguin 7- I upgraded the bios to the newest available just 2 or so weeks ago. I believe its A19, but I could be wrong. 8. I will look into these and see if any of them seem appropriate for my issue. Thanks
Mar 25, 2021 at 19:21 comment added Lzypenguin Thank you for the response, here are answers to your points. 1- No. 2-I can repeat the problem anytime I want. I have done these steps already and narrowed down to #23 in the photo you attached, if #23 is plugged in, the problem occurs, when #23 is unplugged, the computer works perfectly. 3- Yes, tried. 4-Have not tried yet, but I will shortly. 5. Since I can repeat the process with one connector, I am not sure what else to "repeat". I know the panel indicates memory failure, but I have tried EVERY possible combination, and these memory chips work in another computer, and with #23 unplugged.
Mar 25, 2021 at 16:02 history edited gregg CC BY-SA 4.0
add more details
Mar 25, 2021 at 15:45 history edited gregg CC BY-SA 4.0
more tips added
Mar 25, 2021 at 15:21 history edited gregg CC BY-SA 4.0
more tips added
Mar 25, 2021 at 15:03 history answered gregg CC BY-SA 4.0