Skip to main content
add some tests i've done
Source Link
flagg19
  • 465
  • 2
  • 7
  • 18

I've built a new pc and it works fine but I have this strange "problem" that about 1 out of 5 times i suspend or shutdown it, the backlight of the keyboard and/or rgb on the mouse stays on. When I wake/turn back on the pc everything works as expected, no errors or any info in the event log.

I'm on windows 10, using two usb2's motherboard ports, same mouse and keyboard had no problems in my old build. I've tried playing with the various usb related power options, no luck. Could this be a software thing? Or maybe BIOS? or even worse, hardware issue?

EDIT I've done more tests:

  • tried another PSU
  • tried every possible windows settings related to USB suspension
  • unplugged every not-essential peripheral
  • the only BIOS setting that has an effect is ErP set to enabled, but it only works for shutdown, not standby, and also doesn't really fix the issue, it just "covers" it because you can still see the device on when the rest is off for few seconds before ErP cuts the power

I've built a new pc and it works fine but I have this strange "problem" that about 1 out of 5 times i suspend or shutdown it, the backlight of the keyboard and/or rgb on the mouse stays on. When I wake/turn back on the pc everything works as expected, no errors or any info in the event log.

I'm on windows 10, using two usb2's motherboard ports, same mouse and keyboard had no problems in my old build. I've tried playing with the various usb related power options, no luck. Could this be a software thing? Or maybe BIOS? or even worse, hardware issue?

I've built a new pc and it works fine but I have this strange "problem" that about 1 out of 5 times i suspend or shutdown it, the backlight of the keyboard and/or rgb on the mouse stays on. When I wake/turn back on the pc everything works as expected, no errors or any info in the event log.

I'm on windows 10, using two usb2's motherboard ports, same mouse and keyboard had no problems in my old build. I've tried playing with the various usb related power options, no luck. Could this be a software thing? Or maybe BIOS? or even worse, hardware issue?

EDIT I've done more tests:

  • tried another PSU
  • tried every possible windows settings related to USB suspension
  • unplugged every not-essential peripheral
  • the only BIOS setting that has an effect is ErP set to enabled, but it only works for shutdown, not standby, and also doesn't really fix the issue, it just "covers" it because you can still see the device on when the rest is off for few seconds before ErP cuts the power
Source Link
flagg19
  • 465
  • 2
  • 7
  • 18

Keyboard's and/or mouse's light randomly stays on when pc suspended or shutdown

I've built a new pc and it works fine but I have this strange "problem" that about 1 out of 5 times i suspend or shutdown it, the backlight of the keyboard and/or rgb on the mouse stays on. When I wake/turn back on the pc everything works as expected, no errors or any info in the event log.

I'm on windows 10, using two usb2's motherboard ports, same mouse and keyboard had no problems in my old build. I've tried playing with the various usb related power options, no luck. Could this be a software thing? Or maybe BIOS? or even worse, hardware issue?