Skip to main content
Title was about backing up, but the question is about downloading.
Link

Error while using Trying to use Steam or SteamCMD to backupdownload Linux version of game on Windows

added 1217 characters in body
Source Link
iz_been
  • 123
  • 1
  • 8

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

EDIT:

I wasn't able to answer my question but after reading a bit more I think I can achieve the same thing with the regular Steam Client for Windows:

First step: add the -console launch parameter to the Steam shortcut.

Second step: Steam will now have a Console option in the main window. Click that.

Third step: Go to steamdb.info and search for the game you want to backup

Fourth step: Look for the "Depot" section of your game (for example: this is the CS:GO depot page: https://steamdb.info/app/730/depots/)

Fifth step: Look for the depot ID of the platform you want to download (for example: if I wanted CS:GO linux beta files, the id would be 734)

This would only save Linux specific files. To backup the whole game, you would also need the "Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta Common"

Sixth step: Back in the Steam console type download_depot <appid> <depotid>

The files will be downloaded to your Steam installation folder \Steam\steamapps\content\<app id>

I have not labeled this as answered as I'm not 100% sure that this is enough to backup other platform versions of a Steam game (I have not tested a backup in Linux).

I don't know if there is some additional step to downloading the game files that is not possible when you are not running the correct platform.

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

EDIT:

I wasn't able to answer my question but after reading a bit more I think I can achieve the same thing with the regular Steam Client for Windows:

First step: add the -console launch parameter to the Steam shortcut.

Second step: Steam will now have a Console option in the main window. Click that.

Third step: Go to steamdb.info and search for the game you want to backup

Fourth step: Look for the "Depot" section of your game (for example: this is the CS:GO depot page: https://steamdb.info/app/730/depots/)

Fifth step: Look for the depot ID of the platform you want to download (for example: if I wanted CS:GO linux beta files, the id would be 734)

Sixth step: Back in the Steam console type download_depot <appid> <depotid>

The files will be downloaded to your Steam installation folder \Steam\steamapps\content\<app id>

I have not labeled this as answered as I'm not 100% sure that this is enough to backup other platform versions of a Steam game (I have not tested a backup in Linux).

I don't know if there is some additional step to downloading the game files that is not possible when you are not running the correct platform.

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

EDIT:

I wasn't able to answer my question but after reading a bit more I think I can achieve the same thing with the regular Steam Client for Windows:

First step: add the -console launch parameter to the Steam shortcut.

Second step: Steam will now have a Console option in the main window. Click that.

Third step: Go to steamdb.info and search for the game you want to backup

Fourth step: Look for the "Depot" section of your game (for example: this is the CS:GO depot page: https://steamdb.info/app/730/depots/)

Fifth step: Look for the depot ID of the platform you want to download (for example: if I wanted CS:GO linux beta files, the id would be 734)

This would only save Linux specific files. To backup the whole game, you would also need the "Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta Common"

Sixth step: Back in the Steam console type download_depot <appid> <depotid>

The files will be downloaded to your Steam installation folder \Steam\steamapps\content\<app id>

I have not labeled this as answered as I'm not 100% sure that this is enough to backup other platform versions of a Steam game (I have not tested a backup in Linux).

I don't know if there is some additional step to downloading the game files that is not possible when you are not running the correct platform.

added 1217 characters in body
Source Link
iz_been
  • 123
  • 1
  • 8

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

EDIT:

I wasn't able to answer my question but after reading a bit more I think I can achieve the same thing with the regular Steam Client for Windows:

First step: add the -console launch parameter to the Steam shortcut.

Second step: Steam will now have a Console option in the main window. Click that.

Third step: Go to steamdb.info and search for the game you want to backup

Fourth step: Look for the "Depot" section of your game (for example: this is the CS:GO depot page: https://steamdb.info/app/730/depots/)

Fifth step: Look for the depot ID of the platform you want to download (for example: if I wanted CS:GO linux beta files, the id would be 734)

Sixth step: Back in the Steam console type download_depot <appid> <depotid>

The files will be downloaded to your Steam installation folder \Steam\steamapps\content\<app id>

I have not labeled this as answered as I'm not 100% sure that this is enough to backup other platform versions of a Steam game (I have not tested a backup in Linux).

I don't know if there is some additional step to downloading the game files that is not possible when you are not running the correct platform.

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

I'm aware that SteamCMD is probably geared towards people that run game servers but I thought I would try using it as a more practical way to back up the linux versions of my games without the hassle (and hard drive space) of a linux virtual machine.

As far as I can tell it worked perfectly for Hotline Miami

But when I tried downloading the linux version o Half-Life 1, I got the following error right at the end of the download:

c:\buildslave\steam_rel_client_win32\build\src\common\symlink.cpp (65) : Assertion Failed: 
symlinks on windows require admin rights, only work on Vista and above, and aren't supported 
in client builds Error! App '70' state is 0x602 after update job.

I'm running SteamCmd on Win 10 (1909) and used the following commands to download the Linux version of the game:

login <USERNAME> <PASSWORD>
force_install_dir <path to directory where I want the files saved>
@sSteamCmdForcePlatformType linux
app_update 70 validate

Can anyone shed some light on what this error means?

EDIT:

I wasn't able to answer my question but after reading a bit more I think I can achieve the same thing with the regular Steam Client for Windows:

First step: add the -console launch parameter to the Steam shortcut.

Second step: Steam will now have a Console option in the main window. Click that.

Third step: Go to steamdb.info and search for the game you want to backup

Fourth step: Look for the "Depot" section of your game (for example: this is the CS:GO depot page: https://steamdb.info/app/730/depots/)

Fifth step: Look for the depot ID of the platform you want to download (for example: if I wanted CS:GO linux beta files, the id would be 734)

Sixth step: Back in the Steam console type download_depot <appid> <depotid>

The files will be downloaded to your Steam installation folder \Steam\steamapps\content\<app id>

I have not labeled this as answered as I'm not 100% sure that this is enough to backup other platform versions of a Steam game (I have not tested a backup in Linux).

I don't know if there is some additional step to downloading the game files that is not possible when you are not running the correct platform.

Source Link
iz_been
  • 123
  • 1
  • 8
Loading