Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    Copying the files is not enough, without the BCD, Windows will not boot. I don’t think there’s any way to create the BCD from Linux.
    – Daniel B
    Commented May 26, 2020 at 8:50
  • Ahh, unfortunately you're right. I forgot that it's stored on ESP too. I'll update the answer...
    – gronostaj
    Commented May 26, 2020 at 8:57
  • @gronostaj You are actually right. I did choose to format the ESP and forgot about it (I don't know what was I thinking, obviously Windows EFI files will be deleted). Also I'll try to make backups a habbit. However I have one small doubt, I have edited the question to ask. Thanks for your answer.
    – akshatfs
    Commented May 26, 2020 at 12:33