Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user

The IP in the following picture is replaced with xs for security purposes

ssh -i key.pem [email protected]
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@         WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE!          @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Permissions for 'key.pem' are too open.
It is required that your private key files are NOT accessible by others.
This private key will be ignored.
Load key "key.pem": bad permissions
[email protected]: Permission denied (publickey,gssapi-keyex,gssapi-with-mic).

So, I run into the issue highlighted in the code above. I'm told that to fix this, the file in question needs to be only available to me, and that I have to be the owner. Simple enough. The problem comes in doing that. I followed the basic instructions to set only myself as having access to the file, that is

You locate the file in Windows Explorer, right-click on it then select "Properties". Navigate to the "Security" tab and click "Advanced".

Change the owner to you, disable inheritance and delete all permissions. Then grant yourself "Full control" and save the permissions. Now SSH won't complain about file permission too open anymore.

But, the problem arises with this security group called "ALL APPLICATION PACKAGES", which I cannot get rid of for the life of me. Every time I get rid of it with 'Remove', it automatically comes back when I hit 'Apply'. I think this one group is preventing me from being able to SSH into the ec2 server.

Image of what this user group looks like from my comp:

Image of what this user group looks like from my compIMG:

Any ideas? All the info I've found is just that it's some very recent feature on windows 10, but nothing about a fix.

P.S. I don't care about my name being visible.

The IP in the following picture is replaced with xs for security purposes

ssh -i key.pem [email protected]
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@         WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE!          @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Permissions for 'key.pem' are too open.
It is required that your private key files are NOT accessible by others.
This private key will be ignored.
Load key "key.pem": bad permissions
[email protected]: Permission denied (publickey,gssapi-keyex,gssapi-with-mic).

So I run into the issue highlighted in the code above. I'm told that to fix this, the file in question needs to be only available to me, and that I have to be the owner. Simple enough. The problem comes in doing that. I followed the basic instructions to set only myself as having access to the file, that is

You locate the file in Windows Explorer, right-click on it then select "Properties". Navigate to the "Security" tab and click "Advanced".

Change the owner to you, disable inheritance and delete all permissions. Then grant yourself "Full control" and save the permissions. Now SSH won't complain about file permission too open anymore.

But the problem arises with this security group called "ALL APPLICATION PACKAGES", which I cannot get rid of for the life of me. Every time I get rid of it with 'Remove', it automatically comes back when I hit 'Apply'. I think this one group is preventing me from being able to SSH into the ec2 server.

Image of what this user group looks like from my comp

Any ideas? All the info I've found is just that it's some very recent feature on windows 10, but nothing about a fix.

P.S. I don't care about my name being visible.

The IP in the following picture is replaced with xs for security purposes

ssh -i key.pem [email protected]
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@         WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE!          @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Permissions for 'key.pem' are too open.
It is required that your private key files are NOT accessible by others.
This private key will be ignored.
Load key "key.pem": bad permissions
[email protected]: Permission denied (publickey,gssapi-keyex,gssapi-with-mic).

So, I run into the issue highlighted in the code above. I'm told that to fix this, the file in question needs to be only available to me, and that I have to be the owner. Simple enough. The problem comes in doing that. I followed the basic instructions to set only myself as having access to the file, that is

You locate the file in Windows Explorer, right-click on it then select "Properties". Navigate to the "Security" tab and click "Advanced".

Change the owner to you, disable inheritance and delete all permissions. Then grant yourself "Full control" and save the permissions. Now SSH won't complain about file permission too open anymore.

But, the problem arises with this security group called "ALL APPLICATION PACKAGES", which I cannot get rid of for the life of me. Every time I get rid of it with 'Remove', it automatically comes back when I hit 'Apply'. I think this one group is preventing me from being able to SSH into the ec2 server.

Image of what this user group looks like from my comp:

IMG:

Any ideas? All the info I've found is just that it's some very recent feature on windows 10, but nothing about a fix.

P.S. I don't care about my name being visible.

Source Link

Windows SSH: Can't ssh into ec2 account: Permissions for 'key.pem' are too open. Can't delete permissions for "ALL APPLICATION PACKAGES"

The IP in the following picture is replaced with xs for security purposes

ssh -i key.pem [email protected]
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@         WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE!          @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Permissions for 'key.pem' are too open.
It is required that your private key files are NOT accessible by others.
This private key will be ignored.
Load key "key.pem": bad permissions
[email protected]: Permission denied (publickey,gssapi-keyex,gssapi-with-mic).

So I run into the issue highlighted in the code above. I'm told that to fix this, the file in question needs to be only available to me, and that I have to be the owner. Simple enough. The problem comes in doing that. I followed the basic instructions to set only myself as having access to the file, that is

You locate the file in Windows Explorer, right-click on it then select "Properties". Navigate to the "Security" tab and click "Advanced".

Change the owner to you, disable inheritance and delete all permissions. Then grant yourself "Full control" and save the permissions. Now SSH won't complain about file permission too open anymore.

But the problem arises with this security group called "ALL APPLICATION PACKAGES", which I cannot get rid of for the life of me. Every time I get rid of it with 'Remove', it automatically comes back when I hit 'Apply'. I think this one group is preventing me from being able to SSH into the ec2 server.

Image of what this user group looks like from my comp

Any ideas? All the info I've found is just that it's some very recent feature on windows 10, but nothing about a fix.

P.S. I don't care about my name being visible.