Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

macos terminal macOS Terminal ls not listing all files (visiblebut they are all visible through finder)the Finder

added 3 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

I have an external USB drive with about 4TB of files on it. These show up in Finder just findfine, but when I use terminal it only shows a single file. Even hidden system directories such as .Trashes.Trashes aren't visible or accessible. I tried different ways of listing files.

enter image description here

Here is how the disk is formatted:

enter image description here

I have used Disk Utility to unmount then repair the drive. This took about 4 hours and fixed all the reported problems, and rebooted my Mac. The files seem to work fine through Finder apps.

What could be going on?

I have an external USB drive with about 4TB of files on it. These show up in Finder just find, but when I use terminal it only shows a single file. Even hidden system directories such as .Trashes aren't visible or accessible. I tried different ways of listing files.

enter image description here

Here is how the disk is formatted

enter image description here

I have used Disk Utility to unmount then repair the drive. This took about 4 hours and fixed all the reported problems, and rebooted my Mac. The files seem to work fine through Finder apps.

What could be going on?

I have an external USB drive with about 4TB of files on it. These show up in Finder just fine, but when I use terminal it only shows a single file. Even hidden system directories such as .Trashes aren't visible or accessible. I tried different ways of listing files.

enter image description here

Here is how the disk is formatted:

enter image description here

I have used Disk Utility to unmount then repair the drive. This took about 4 hours and fixed all the reported problems, and rebooted my Mac. The files seem to work fine through Finder apps.

What could be going on?

Source Link
frumbert
  • 1.1k
  • 2
  • 12
  • 19

macos terminal ls not listing all files (visible through finder)

I have an external USB drive with about 4TB of files on it. These show up in Finder just find, but when I use terminal it only shows a single file. Even hidden system directories such as .Trashes aren't visible or accessible. I tried different ways of listing files.

enter image description here

Here is how the disk is formatted

enter image description here

I have used Disk Utility to unmount then repair the drive. This took about 4 hours and fixed all the reported problems, and rebooted my Mac. The files seem to work fine through Finder apps.

What could be going on?