Skip to main content
added 183 characters in body
Source Link

I temporarily fixed a family member’s hard drive so I could get the data off of it onto my computer. As I was transferring over the downloads, I had a windows defender message come up detecting a Trojan. I deleted the quarantined files in windows defender. Then, windows explorer couldn’t transfer two of the files over from the downloads (I am assuming those files had a Trojan virus, or maybe they had been deleted from windows defender). I decided to skip them, and then the files transferred over to my Documents.

After thinking more about the trojan, I delete all of the files that I had transferred from the hard drive.

Is there any chance that I have a Trojan? First of all, I never opened any ofand unplugged the fileshard drive. But could I still have it regardless?

  1. Is there any chance that I have a Trojan? First of all, I never opened any of the files. But could I still have it regardless?

  2. Also, if I run a windows defender scan (or any other free anti-virus per reccomenation), and nothing shows up, is there nothing to worry about?

Thanks in advance!

I temporarily fixed a family member’s hard drive so I could get the data off of it onto my computer. As I was transferring over the downloads, I had a windows defender message come up detecting a Trojan. I deleted the quarantined files in windows defender. Then, windows explorer couldn’t transfer two of the files over from the downloads (I am assuming those files had a Trojan virus, or maybe they had been deleted from windows defender). I decided to skip them, and then the files transferred over to my Documents.

After thinking more about the trojan, I delete all of the files that I had transferred from the hard drive.

Is there any chance that I have a Trojan? First of all, I never opened any of the files. But could I still have it regardless?

Thanks in advance!

I temporarily fixed a family member’s hard drive so I could get the data off of it onto my computer. As I was transferring over the downloads, I had a windows defender message come up detecting a Trojan. I deleted the quarantined files in windows defender. Then, windows explorer couldn’t transfer two of the files over from the downloads (I am assuming those files had a Trojan virus, or maybe they had been deleted from windows defender). I decided to skip them, and then the files transferred over to my Documents.

After thinking more about the trojan, I delete all of the files that I had transferred from the hard drive, and unplugged the hard drive.

  1. Is there any chance that I have a Trojan? First of all, I never opened any of the files. But could I still have it regardless?

  2. Also, if I run a windows defender scan (or any other free anti-virus per reccomenation), and nothing shows up, is there nothing to worry about?

Thanks in advance!

Source Link

Do I Have a Trojan after Plugging in Hard Drive?

I temporarily fixed a family member’s hard drive so I could get the data off of it onto my computer. As I was transferring over the downloads, I had a windows defender message come up detecting a Trojan. I deleted the quarantined files in windows defender. Then, windows explorer couldn’t transfer two of the files over from the downloads (I am assuming those files had a Trojan virus, or maybe they had been deleted from windows defender). I decided to skip them, and then the files transferred over to my Documents.

After thinking more about the trojan, I delete all of the files that I had transferred from the hard drive.

Is there any chance that I have a Trojan? First of all, I never opened any of the files. But could I still have it regardless?

Thanks in advance!