Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
added 377 characters in body
Source Link
ConanTheGerbil
  • 257
  • 1
  • 4
  • 14

I want to schedule a task to run at 5 minutes past midnight UTC every morning.

My computer automatically adjusts for daylight saving time, so during the winter I have the task scheduled for 00:05:00, and when the clocks go forward to BST (British Summer Time) I have to remember to alter the task to run at 01:05:00. I'm using task scheduler 1.0 on windows 10 pro.

Ok, so I only I have to remember this change twice a year, but it's really annoying that I can't find anyway to do this automatically.

UPDATE - one of the issues with a problem like this is that the live task is only run once a day, and the timezones only change twice a year, so creating a suitable test environment isn't very easy. I've tried the 'synchronise across time zones' button and it doesn't seem to do much, I think it's for running multiple jobs across different servers in different time zones.

I want to schedule a task to run at 5 minutes past midnight UTC every morning.

My computer automatically adjusts for daylight saving time, so during the winter I have the task scheduled for 00:05:00, and when the clocks go forward to BST (British Summer Time) I have to remember to alter the task to run at 01:05:00. I'm using task scheduler 1.0 on windows 10 pro.

Ok, so I only I have to remember this change twice a year, but it's really annoying that I can't find anyway to do this automatically.

I want to schedule a task to run at 5 minutes past midnight UTC every morning.

My computer automatically adjusts for daylight saving time, so during the winter I have the task scheduled for 00:05:00, and when the clocks go forward to BST (British Summer Time) I have to remember to alter the task to run at 01:05:00. I'm using task scheduler 1.0 on windows 10 pro.

Ok, so I only I have to remember this change twice a year, but it's really annoying that I can't find anyway to do this automatically.

UPDATE - one of the issues with a problem like this is that the live task is only run once a day, and the timezones only change twice a year, so creating a suitable test environment isn't very easy. I've tried the 'synchronise across time zones' button and it doesn't seem to do much, I think it's for running multiple jobs across different servers in different time zones.

Source Link
ConanTheGerbil
  • 257
  • 1
  • 4
  • 14

How to make windows task scheduler work UTC and ignore current local timezone?

I want to schedule a task to run at 5 minutes past midnight UTC every morning.

My computer automatically adjusts for daylight saving time, so during the winter I have the task scheduled for 00:05:00, and when the clocks go forward to BST (British Summer Time) I have to remember to alter the task to run at 01:05:00. I'm using task scheduler 1.0 on windows 10 pro.

Ok, so I only I have to remember this change twice a year, but it's really annoying that I can't find anyway to do this automatically.