Skip to main content
added 421 characters in body
Source Link

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

Addendum (2019.02.13):

Below are the results of the launchctl command suggested by @MMB yesterday:

Label
com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool
com.bitdefender.CoreIssues
com.bitdefender.Daemon
com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon
com.bitdefender.agent
com.bitdefender.credentials
com.bitdefender.upgrade
com.teamviewer.Helper
com.vix.cron
net.tunnelblick.tunnelblick.tunnelblickd
org.cups.cupsd
org.serviio.server

Label com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool com.bitdefender.CoreIssues com.bitdefender.Daemon com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon com.bitdefender.agent com.bitdefender.credentials com.bitdefender.upgrade com.teamviewer.Helper com.vix.cron net.tunnelblick.tunnelblickNote that BitDefender AntiVirus was not installed at the time this problem started occurring.tunnelblickd org The latest log file generated, though, is hs_err_pid208.cupslog and PID 208 is com.cupsd orgapple.serviiousbd, not any of the above.server

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

Addendum (2019.02.13):

Below are the results of the launchctl command suggested by @MMB yesterday:

Label com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool com.bitdefender.CoreIssues com.bitdefender.Daemon com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon com.bitdefender.agent com.bitdefender.credentials com.bitdefender.upgrade com.teamviewer.Helper com.vix.cron net.tunnelblick.tunnelblick.tunnelblickd org.cups.cupsd org.serviio.server

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

Addendum (2019.02.13):

Below are the results of the launchctl command suggested by @MMB yesterday:

Label
com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool
com.bitdefender.CoreIssues
com.bitdefender.Daemon
com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon
com.bitdefender.agent
com.bitdefender.credentials
com.bitdefender.upgrade
com.teamviewer.Helper
com.vix.cron
net.tunnelblick.tunnelblick.tunnelblickd
org.cups.cupsd
org.serviio.server

Note that BitDefender AntiVirus was not installed at the time this problem started occurring. The latest log file generated, though, is hs_err_pid208.log and PID 208 is com.apple.usbd, not any of the above.

added 421 characters in body
Source Link

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

Addendum (2019.02.13):

Below are the results of the launchctl command suggested by @MMB yesterday:

Label com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool com.bitdefender.CoreIssues com.bitdefender.Daemon com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon com.bitdefender.agent com.bitdefender.credentials com.bitdefender.upgrade com.teamviewer.Helper com.vix.cron net.tunnelblick.tunnelblick.tunnelblickd org.cups.cupsd org.serviio.server

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).

Addendum (2019.02.13):

Below are the results of the launchctl command suggested by @MMB yesterday:

Label com.bitdefender.AuthHelperTool com.bitdefender.CoreIssues com.bitdefender.Daemon com.bitdefender.UpdDaemon com.bitdefender.agent com.bitdefender.credentials com.bitdefender.upgrade com.teamviewer.Helper com.vix.cron net.tunnelblick.tunnelblick.tunnelblickd org.cups.cupsd org.serviio.server

Source Link

hs_err_pidxxx.log files keep appearing in root folder macOS Mojave

I have been researching hs_err_pidxxx.log files online for weeks and the only information I can find is that they are error logs generated by Java in plain text.

First, these files have been popping up in my root directory (Macintosh HD) sporadically ever since I got this computer. They usually appear while the computer is sleeping, around 2 o'clock in the morning.

Second, I uninstalled the Java runtime from this Mac several months ago and have used "deep uninstall" apps to make sure all Java-related files have been deleted from the computer.

Finally, the files that appear on my computer are not readable. Whether their content is binary or plain text I cannot tell but the contents are pure gibberish and do not contain any readable words.

Could someone help me figure out what these files are and where they are coming from (they do not seem to fit the description, as stated above, of what everyone else's posts on the internet say they are).