Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 2
    What sort of data is stored there? My understanding is that webpages are stored on servers and delivered to the visitors not vice versa ;-). All I can think of that might be saved by web pages are cookies. These can be regenerated in case of huge data loss. I found this article but I do not understand the implications of it. Commented Nov 25, 2018 at 19:55
  • Mostly data used by add-ons and webpages. Cookies is one of them, but also sign-on credentials, add-on settings and more. I wouldn't advice abandoning /storage/default, but losing /storage/temporary might be supportable.
    – harrymc
    Commented Nov 25, 2018 at 20:00
  • 1
    Why is NY Times saving hundreds of MB on my local machine??
    – endolith
    Commented Oct 20, 2021 at 19:13