Skip to main content
added 1117 characters in body
Source Link
Larryc
  • 1k
  • 5
  • 11

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MS-DOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with PowerShell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

EDIT: I was thinking about this discussion this morning and I decided to take this one step further. I assume the mods will decide if this is relevant.

I am unable to CD in to the folder.

Consider, if I MD c:\test then CD C:\test and MD ....\ I end up with C:\test....

and all is well.

But CD .... fails and kicks me back to C:\test. (CD ....\ does the same.)

However I can DIR .... and get a dir listing. I can also

MD C:\test....\temp and it creates that sub-dir in ....

I can also CD C:\test....\temp and go into that sub-sub directory.

But while in C:\test....\temp , if I CD .. I am back in C:\test.

I cannot cd into that directory, but I can manipulate the folder by creating subfolders, and interesting enough something like

ECHO "Testing" >> C:\test....\test.txt

also works and creates a file in that folder. So I can create a folder with four dots, I can add files and folders to it, I can get dir listings of it, but I cannot CD into it. Could there be some kind of evil genius use for this? My apologies to the mods if I have strayed too far off course.

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MS-DOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with PowerShell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MS-DOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with PowerShell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

EDIT: I was thinking about this discussion this morning and I decided to take this one step further. I assume the mods will decide if this is relevant.

I am unable to CD in to the folder.

Consider, if I MD c:\test then CD C:\test and MD ....\ I end up with C:\test....

and all is well.

But CD .... fails and kicks me back to C:\test. (CD ....\ does the same.)

However I can DIR .... and get a dir listing. I can also

MD C:\test....\temp and it creates that sub-dir in ....

I can also CD C:\test....\temp and go into that sub-sub directory.

But while in C:\test....\temp , if I CD .. I am back in C:\test.

I cannot cd into that directory, but I can manipulate the folder by creating subfolders, and interesting enough something like

ECHO "Testing" >> C:\test....\test.txt

also works and creates a file in that folder. So I can create a folder with four dots, I can add files and folders to it, I can get dir listings of it, but I cannot CD into it. Could there be some kind of evil genius use for this? My apologies to the mods if I have strayed too far off course.

improved formatting and added 'code' for easier understanding.
Source Link
Run5k
  • 16.1k
  • 24
  • 51
  • 66

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MSDOSMS-DOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with powershellPowerShell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MSDOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with powershell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MS-DOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with PowerShell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

improved formatting and added 'code' for easier understanding.
Source Link

TheirThere is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MSDOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with powershell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use thethis specific syntax above to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

Their is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MSDOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with powershell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use the specific syntax above to remove it.

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

There is an easier way to create the directory. From the command prompt type:

MD ....\

and hit enter, it will create a directory with four dots. This directory is also viewable with explorer.

There is a flaw in MSDOS that goes way back to version 1.0. MS has known about it for some time but could not or would not fix it. They have corrected the problem with powershell.

BTW, if you try:

RD ....

It will fail to delete. You need to use this specific syntax to remove it.

RD ....\

I use this on certain servers that I admin. I often create a user folder on the root of the disk and I don't want another administrator to come along and remove it.

So I will go inside my folder and create a subfolder named CON, AUX, or LPT, etc...

If another Admin wants to remove my folder they need to know how to remove this subfolder first.

Source Link
Larryc
  • 1k
  • 5
  • 11
Loading