Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 6
    That rather sounds like a Win32 API flaw, given that the command prompt hasn't been "MS-DOS" anymore for about twenty years now. Commented Nov 2, 2018 at 5:39
  • 2
    Interestingly, If I try to delete the directory in windows explorer, it crashes when I created it with your version. When I created it with cygwin, it simply fails and says so.
    – lucidbrot
    Commented Nov 2, 2018 at 11:26
  • I have a DOS 3.3 and a DOS 6.0 machines and the commands work on them. When they switched to 32 bit the issue was still there. it works in the CMD window from win95 all the way up to today, including all server versions. Now that we're switching to Powershell It no longer works. I realized after I wrote that that it does create the directory but it doesn't provide the effect that the OP was seeing. If I try to CD into the directory with four dots it just kicks me back out.
    – Larryc
    Commented Nov 2, 2018 at 21:33
  • On my Windows 7 machine MD ....` only creates ....\....` tree - there is only one step of recursion. Commented Nov 7, 2018 at 16:07
  • Curiously FAR manager doesn't see this as special in any way, and creates / renames / deletes / lists the contents of directories named "lots of dots" with no issues at all.
    – RomanSt
    Commented Nov 11, 2018 at 11:41