Skip to main content
Minor format and grammar fixes
Source Link
Run5k
  • 16.1k
  • 24
  • 51
  • 66

On my Windows machine, I had a folder with a name of four dots - that acted like some kind of rabbit hole - how did that happen?

The folder name was listed in WindowsFile Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\...., etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using the command line and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

Afterward, I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both WindowsFile Explorer and the command line.

In my 20 plus-plus years of using Windows, I've I have never seen this bug before, andso I can imagine that it can be awould really be an annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

On my Windows machine, I had a folder with a name of four dots - that acted like some kind of rabbit hole - how did that happen?

The folder name was listed in Windows Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\...., etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using the command line and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both Windows Explorer and the command line.

In my 20 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

On my Windows machine, I had a folder with a name of four dots that acted like some kind of rabbit hole - how did that happen?

The folder name was listed in File Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\...., etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using the command line and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

Afterward, I tried to create the folder again but was unable to do so with both File Explorer and the command line.

In my 20-plus years of using Windows I have never seen this bug before, so I can imagine that it would really be an annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

Grammer updates
Source Link
Worthwelle
  • 4.7k
  • 11
  • 22
  • 32

The folder name was listed in FileWindows Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\...., etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using CommandLinethe command line and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both FileWindows Explorer and Commandthe command line.

In my 20 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

The folder name was listed in File Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\.... etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using CommandLine and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both File Explorer and Command line.

In my 20 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

The folder name was listed in Windows Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\...., etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using the command line and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both Windows Explorer and the command line.

In my 20 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

The folder name was listed in File Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\.... etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal waysway because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using CommandLine and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both File Explorer and Command line.

In my >2020 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

The folder name was listed in Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\...\.... etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal ways because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using CommandLine and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both Explorer and Command line.

In my >20 years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

The folder name was listed in File Explorer with just plain four dots .....

When I tried opening it, I came into some kind of endless rabbit hole loop where I opened the exact same folder again and again - I could do this endlessly. Showing the path like C:\ExamplePath\....\....\....\....\.... etc.

It was hanging my TypeScript compilation in one specific project. It took me more than a year before I found this folder and its related problems, because it was rooted deeply in nested folders. I never expected an issue like this, so I never looked for it.

I couldn't delete the folder the normal way because of the special name. In the end, I could remove it by using CommandLine and deleting the parent folder with rd /s /q path.

I tried to create the folder afterward again, but was unable to do so with both File Explorer and Command line.

In my 20 plus years of using Windows, I've never seen this bug before, and I can imagine it can be a really annoying and confusing problem for amateur users.

Does anyone know how this could have happened and how to reproduce this issue?

Update

For people who are interested: this path was located deep within a TFS folder. So probably TFS uses the bypass method @grawity explained ("Various file managers, archivers, etc")

Did I stumble on a rare TFS bug?

added 231 characters in body
Source Link
Dirk Boer
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 11
Loading
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1057603300340744192
Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
Dirk Boer
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 11
Loading