Skip to main content

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already. I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then

Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in thethis picture in the link. If:

Capture Partitions

If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've:

There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation.

I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuffproblem.)

Capture Partitions

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in the picture in the link. If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuff.)

Capture Partitions

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway). I already copied all my data over to an external drive.

Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in this picture:

Capture Partitions

If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get:

There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation.

I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

I can't seem to find a way to fix this problem.

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in the picture in the link. If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuff.)

Capture PartitionsCapture Partitions

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in the picture in the link. If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuff.)

Capture Partitions

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in the picture in the link. If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuff.)

Capture Partitions

Source Link

How do I completely factory-reset my SSD and HDD and create a volume out of unallocated space?

PLEASE read this, because this problem is driving me nuts!

I wanted to clean install Windows 10 and get rid of my current license for a few reasons (it'll expire soon anyway.) I already copied all my data over to an external drive. Then, I chose to 'Reset this PC', erasing all my personal data. I had installed Windows on my SSD, and when my PC was done resetting and booting, the installation of Windows 10 just started all by itself.

So my beginners-approach was to delete the partitions on my HDD (data only) and then of my SSD using Disk Management, hopefully including whatever made Windows install automatically.

What I actually wanted to do is to basically factory reset my drives so that I would just be given the option to install Windows 10 from the new disk I got.

Now, I have my partitions as in the picture in the link. If I right click on the unallocated space, I'm only given the option to create a new simple volume, but if I try to do that and make use of that space, I only get "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation." I've tried to find a solution online, but the third-party software I tried to use (EaseUS and Partition Wizard) don't seem to include what I need in their free version.

So I'm struggling with a few things at once here. If there is a way other than messing around with unallocated space and partitions to just wipe my disks and start anew - I'd be so so happy to hear it.

If there isn't (and I suppose I'll have to deal with the unallocated space first if I want to be able to use it) I'd love to know why I can't seem to create a new Volume with the unallocated space, and what I have to do with the partitions on my SSD and how to wipe it, to stop Windows from just self-installing and to be able to clean install from the new Windows 10 disk.

It seems like such a stupid little problem but I can't seem to find a way to fix it so any help would be appreciated.

(If I'm not using the right terminology here, I'm sorry - I tried my best to be precise but I don't know much about this stuff.)

Capture Partitions