Skip to main content
added info that was in a comment of mine
Source Link
mbomb007
  • 737
  • 1
  • 11
  • 27

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help. Similarly, using nested archives doesn't work either, saying:

We're sorry. You can't access this item because it is in violation of our Terms of Service.

If you would like to test a solution, a harmless executable with a false positive may be found on this page: Non Stick Mouse in corners of Windows 10. The installer executable (first download) is the file I cannot attach. The file gives a false positive on VirusTotal. There is numerous discussion in the comments on the linked page of why that is. If you are paranoid, there is a link to the source code on that page as well.

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help.

If you would like to test a solution, a harmless executable with a false positive may be found on this page: Non Stick Mouse in corners of Windows 10. The installer executable (first download) is the file I cannot attach. The file gives a false positive on VirusTotal. There is numerous discussion in the comments on the linked page of why that is. If you are paranoid, there is a link to the source code on that page as well.

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help. Similarly, using nested archives doesn't work either, saying:

We're sorry. You can't access this item because it is in violation of our Terms of Service.

If you would like to test a solution, a harmless executable with a false positive may be found on this page: Non Stick Mouse in corners of Windows 10. The installer executable (first download) is the file I cannot attach. The file gives a false positive on VirusTotal. There is numerous discussion in the comments on the linked page of why that is. If you are paranoid, there is a link to the source code on that page as well.

added 277 characters in body
Source Link
mbomb007
  • 737
  • 1
  • 11
  • 27

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help.

If you would like to test a solution, a harmless executable with a false positive may be found on this page: Non Stick Mouse in corners of Windows 10. The installer executable (first download) is the file I cannot attach. The file gives a false positive on VirusTotal. There is numerous discussion in the comments on the linked page of why that is. If you are paranoid, there is a link to the source code on that page as well.

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help.

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help.

If you would like to test a solution, a harmless executable with a false positive may be found on this page: Non Stick Mouse in corners of Windows 10. The installer executable (first download) is the file I cannot attach. The file gives a false positive on VirusTotal. There is numerous discussion in the comments on the linked page of why that is. If you are paranoid, there is a link to the source code on that page as well.

Source Link
mbomb007
  • 737
  • 1
  • 11
  • 27

Gmail prevents attaching "virus" file

I am trying to send an email from gmail to another email account owned by me, but when I try to attach a file that Google identifies as a virus (it is a false positive) it says "Virus Detected!" and won't let me send it.

I could try uploading it to my Google Drive, but is there a way for me to actually email it? I already tried changing the file extension to .txt and zipping it into an archive, and it didn't help.