Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • I tried this just now, when I add data series 2 as "Events" and put the X values as the dates of the events, then set the y values to "1", I just get a single dot in the wrong spot on the graph. I also have an extra X axis on top of the graph, and another one to the right side, so I'm not having an easy time of it! This is strange because treemaps, pie charts and a plain line chart never trip me up.
    – C Bauer
    Commented Mar 5, 2018 at 19:07
  • You have to have two data points to form a line. So you have to have the data arranged as I have shown. When you add the series, enter the range for the x-values for Series2 as (for example) A:15:A16 and the y-values as B15:B16. But use the appropriate ranges for where your data is located. Commented Mar 5, 2018 at 19:15
  • Note this has to be a scatter graph for the added series to line up with the correct dates. It's OK for the events to be on a separate sheet. Commented Mar 5, 2018 at 19:20