Skip to main content

Timeline for Add unallocated space to lvm

Current License: CC BY-SA 2.5

4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10, 2010 at 6:53 history migrated from serverfault.com (revisions)
Feb 10, 2010 at 4:12 comment added quack quixote @Newbie: it does "make it easier to resize", but like any technology there's some strings attached. in this case, the first string is that you can't have more than 4 primary partitions, and you need space in a partition in order to add it to LVM. you'd have similar trouble resizing an ext3 partition in this situation.
Feb 6, 2010 at 17:37 comment added Newbie So basically there's no way to grow the LVM? I read somewhere that lvm makes it easier to resize the partition but it doesn't look like it. It adds unnecessary complication for majority of the users. Back when I was in Fedora 7, I've moved/resized my partitions several times but after they introduced this "improvement" in Fedora 11 and left that as default, it's impossible to do anything. I'll probably have to resize again in the future so I guess I should just format, reinstall and stick to ext3.
Feb 6, 2010 at 11:19 history answered Andrew Aylett CC BY-SA 2.5