Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • 1
    So basically there's no way to grow the LVM? I read somewhere that lvm makes it easier to resize the partition but it doesn't look like it. It adds unnecessary complication for majority of the users. Back when I was in Fedora 7, I've moved/resized my partitions several times but after they introduced this "improvement" in Fedora 11 and left that as default, it's impossible to do anything. I'll probably have to resize again in the future so I guess I should just format, reinstall and stick to ext3.
    – Newbie
    Commented Feb 6, 2010 at 17:37
  • @Newbie: it does "make it easier to resize", but like any technology there's some strings attached. in this case, the first string is that you can't have more than 4 primary partitions, and you need space in a partition in order to add it to LVM. you'd have similar trouble resizing an ext3 partition in this situation. Commented Feb 10, 2010 at 4:12