Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 30, 2022 at 5:38 comment added Deleted @MichaelGrazebrook "I think using Location is safer as symlink approach is an unsupported hack which can break upgrades." - That only applies to Program Files and no one is suggesting that as LPChip pointed out. "Location" - well that only works until the first app that comes along that is hard-coded to write to C:\Users\...\AppData. If you use directory junctions however this is never a problem as everything is redirected. "...hack..." - I don't think POSIX would like that adjective.
Feb 16, 2022 at 17:01 comment added Mário Meyrelles The location change seems to be possible only for special folders like Downloads, Images, Music and Documents. I couldn't find for other folders. The same holds for Windows 11.
Nov 15, 2021 at 1:32 comment added qxotk On my 32-bit win10 I was able to see Location on the properties for the folders, but I was not able to find any way where I could change the value for Location. Where is that option?
Jul 1, 2021 at 18:41 comment added Michael Grazebrook I think using Location is safer as symlink approach is an unsupported hack which can break upgrades. However I haven't tested this.
Apr 6, 2021 at 10:43 comment added Carlos Rafael Ramirez I only see the Location tab on Roaming folder. Not in Local or LocalLow. But it is a gain to move the Roaming folder at least
Jun 12, 2020 at 20:46 comment added Jean Paul I don't know why but I don't have a Location tab under Properties (I'm on Windows 10 version 1903).
May 24, 2018 at 23:10 comment added Chema The symlink way is easier, but this works if you first copy the folders using another account, so when you do this you don't have to move them (and run into files in use problems).
Jan 29, 2018 at 11:29 history answered Ohad Cohen CC BY-SA 3.0