Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • thank you for the reply, I am using a x86 system, last I checked ubuntu had high requirements, my pc specs are 2.0GHZ Celeron Processor, 2GB ram, 128MB Graphics. and the thing is I think that maybe VRAM(graphic i mean) is not enough (128MB) and because of that when I watch a video, it crosses the limit and causes flickering, let me know what u think
    – KillerHawx
    Commented Jan 11, 2018 at 14:50
  • It doesn't hurt to try, just to make sure. But if you feel the OS may be too much, you can also try OpenSuse. Its less heavy on the resources.
    – LPChip
    Commented Jan 11, 2018 at 15:22
  • Linux will be faster than Windows in almost every case. But yeah, you're right, I forgot about the low specifications of your laptop. You'd better use lubuntu instead of plain ubuntu, since your specifications are low-end. This will make your pc run again :)
    – LukeLR
    Commented Jan 11, 2018 at 15:32
  • I've updated my post to include instructions for Lubuntu instead.
    – LukeLR
    Commented Jan 11, 2018 at 15:37