Skip to main content
Removed sentence which adds some confusion.
Source Link
JAT86
  • 211
  • 2
  • 5
  • 13

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF([Name],"*"&A3&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

EDIT:

The screenshot below shows I want to count how many times Area 25 appears on column Name,
including San Jose Area 25 (since it contains the substring Area 25)
but NOT San Jose Area 252 and Area 251 (since these strings end in numbers AFTER the string Area 25), and NOT Area 25-A either (since Area 25 is connected with another substring -A:

Excel COUNTIF error

So the result I want to see in Cell D3 is 4, which are:
Area 25 (cells A3 and A11),
Area 25 Zone B (cell A4), and
San Jose Area 25 (cell A8).

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF([Name],"*"&A3&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

EDIT:

The screenshot below shows I want to count how many times Area 25 appears on column Name,
including San Jose Area 25 (since it contains the substring Area 25)
but NOT San Jose Area 252 and Area 251 (since these strings end in numbers AFTER the string Area 25), and NOT Area 25-A either (since Area 25 is connected with another substring -A:

Excel COUNTIF error

So the result I want to see in Cell D3 is 4, which are:
Area 25 (cells A3 and A11),
Area 25 Zone B (cell A4), and
San Jose Area 25 (cell A8).

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number.

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF([Name],"*"&A3&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

EDIT:

The screenshot below shows I want to count how many times Area 25 appears on column Name,
including San Jose Area 25 (since it contains the substring Area 25)
but NOT San Jose Area 252 and Area 251 (since these strings end in numbers AFTER the string Area 25), and NOT Area 25-A either (since Area 25 is connected with another substring -A:

Excel COUNTIF error

So the result I want to see in Cell D3 is 4, which are:
Area 25 (cells A3 and A11),
Area 25 Zone B (cell A4), and
San Jose Area 25 (cell A8).

Changed formula to match the formula in added screenshot.
Source Link
JAT86
  • 211
  • 2
  • 5
  • 13

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF(table1[column1][Name],"*"&C2&NOT"*"&A3&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

EDIT:

The screenshot below shows I want to count how many times Area 25 appears on column Name,
including San Jose Area 25 (since it contains the substring Area 25)
but NOT San Jose Area 252 and Area 251 (since these strings end in numbers AFTER the string Area 25), and NOT Area 25-A either (since Area 25 is connected with another substring -A:

Excel COUNTIF error

So the result I want to see in Cell D3 is 4, which are:
Area 25 (cells A3 and A11),
Area 25 Zone B (cell A4), and
San Jose Area 25 (cell A8).

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF(table1[column1],"*"&C2&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF([Name],"*"&A3&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))

EDIT:

The screenshot below shows I want to count how many times Area 25 appears on column Name,
including San Jose Area 25 (since it contains the substring Area 25)
but NOT San Jose Area 252 and Area 251 (since these strings end in numbers AFTER the string Area 25), and NOT Area 25-A either (since Area 25 is connected with another substring -A:

Excel COUNTIF error

So the result I want to see in Cell D3 is 4, which are:
Area 25 (cells A3 and A11),
Area 25 Zone B (cell A4), and
San Jose Area 25 (cell A8).

Source Link
JAT86
  • 211
  • 2
  • 5
  • 13

How to exclude strings that end in any number when using COUNTIF?

I have a table and I want to count the number of times a string appears on a column. I used COUNTIF to do this, but I want to exclude in the count those cells with strings ending in any number (I would like to count cells like Area 2-A and 2nd Zone, but NOT Area 25 or Zone D7).

I tried using this formula but the criteria is unrecognized as it always erroneously gives a value of 0:

=COUNTIF(table1[column1],"*"&C2&NOT(ISNUMBER(VALUE(RIGHT("*")))))