Skip to main content
Post Closed as "not constructive" by bwDraco, Sathyajith Bhat
Formatting; added 72 characters in body
Source Link
Josh K
  • 12.8k
  • 9
  • 42
  • 58

I have a pretty large collection of FLAC files created from my CD collection. I love the FLAC format and the sound quality that you can get from it. 

Lately, however, I've been trying to write a few tools to manipulate the files and I've been noticing what seems to be a stagnation of the community around the codec. Some of the links on the official FLAC pageFLAC page point to thingthings that are no longer relevant (7digital. 7digital, for example, appears to no longer sell FLAC encoded songs). 

It's pretty hard to find hardware players that support FLAC any more (most. Most noticeably it's not present on lower end players when it used to be, and playback is absent on Android). Programming language tools (Java and .NET libraries) are at best old, and at worst unfinished.

What's the current state of FLAC development? Has
Has it been replaced by another codec?
What currently updated applications make use of it?

I have a pretty large collection of FLAC files created from my CD collection. I love the FLAC format and the sound quality that you can get from it. Lately, however, I've been trying to write a few tools to manipulate the files and I've been noticing what seems to be a stagnation of the community around the codec. Some of the links on the official FLAC page point to thing that are no longer relevant (7digital, for example, appears to no longer sell FLAC encoded songs). It's pretty hard to find hardware players that support FLAC any more (most noticeably it's not present on lower end players when it used to be, and playback is absent on Android). Programming language tools (Java and .NET libraries) are at best old, and at worst unfinished.

What's the current state of FLAC development? Has it been replaced by another codec?

I have a pretty large collection of FLAC files created from my CD collection. I love the FLAC format and the sound quality that you can get from it. 

Lately, however, I've been trying to write a few tools to manipulate the files and I've been noticing what seems to be a stagnation of the community around the codec. Some of the links on the official FLAC page point to things that are no longer relevant. 7digital, for example, appears to no longer sell FLAC encoded songs. 

It's pretty hard to find hardware players that support FLAC any more. Most noticeably it's not present on lower end players when it used to be, and playback is absent on Android. Programming language tools (Java and .NET libraries) are at best old, and at worst unfinished.

What's the current state of FLAC development?
Has it been replaced by another codec?
What currently updated applications make use of it?

Source Link
TwentyMiles
  • 976
  • 3
  • 10
  • 16

What is the current state of development for the FLAC codec?

I have a pretty large collection of FLAC files created from my CD collection. I love the FLAC format and the sound quality that you can get from it. Lately, however, I've been trying to write a few tools to manipulate the files and I've been noticing what seems to be a stagnation of the community around the codec. Some of the links on the official FLAC page point to thing that are no longer relevant (7digital, for example, appears to no longer sell FLAC encoded songs). It's pretty hard to find hardware players that support FLAC any more (most noticeably it's not present on lower end players when it used to be, and playback is absent on Android). Programming language tools (Java and .NET libraries) are at best old, and at worst unfinished.

What's the current state of FLAC development? Has it been replaced by another codec?