Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • Thanks a lot for this info. Helped me to manually delete the broken store application which it was not possible to delete any other way (power shell included).
    – ElDog
    Commented Oct 17, 2017 at 22:12
  • It seems that this no longer works in later Windows 10 builds. The database now contains triggers which run user-defined functions, so any update fails ("Error: no such function: workid") if the loading application does not install the necessary function(s). Commented Sep 4, 2019 at 19:19
  • @TimSylvester which app do you want to uninstall? In 1903 you can uninstall more inbox apps. Commented Sep 5, 2019 at 13:59
  • Hi, I know this is rather old now but I just nuked a laptop because it wouldn't update and doing this process seems vaguely familiar. I can't recall if I did in fact do this, but is there a way to determine if I had removed the update restricting apps (obviously on other systems)? Any way where I can check using PDQ Inventory so I can grab a list of affected systems, and lastly, if I reinstall the apps, will future upgrades resume? Or is this moot now with the latest version of Windows because I think it is rather silly of MS to prevent updates over something this silly. Commented Jan 22, 2020 at 14:47
  • 2
    This answer is outdated, on Windows 10 20H2, trying to clear IsInBox flags without deleting TRG_AFTER_UPDATE_Package_SRJournal first will cause "is_srjournal_enabled" error, see my answer: superuser.com/a/1618323/1250181 Commented Jan 17, 2021 at 10:38