Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1507054649211518981
removed specific OS. This is universal.
Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142

MacOS Sierra - Full screen/multi desktop WITH menu bar

Question Protected by CommunityBot
added 135 characters in body
Source Link
Matthew
  • 353
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11

This is driving me absolutely insane. I recently got a Macbook running macOS Sierra, and I do like the fullscreen app/multiple desktop feature as well as the 3 finger swipe gesture to switch between fullscreen apps and the desktop. Its become an integral part of my workflow - BUT

The menu bar hides automatically when I switch to fullscreen apps, which is so irritating. I use the Macbook for development, and I often will have atom IDE in one fullscreen, and chrome in another, and I will 3 finger swipe between them to code and then test.

But I often need to access the menu bar in both full screen apps, and currently I have to wait for it to decide to show when I move my mouse to the top of the screen, and then theres the times when I move my mouse too close to the top of the screen and it shows when I DONT want it to, and it covers up my file tabs in atom IDE, then I have to move the mouse down and wait for the menu bar to GO AWAY so I can change which file Im working on.

Im playing this constant irritating game of peekaboo with the stupid menu bar in full screen apps.

There MUST be a way to make the menu bar STAY at all times, surely? Either a global setting, or perhaps a per-app setting, maybe even editing the plist? Or at the very least, make the menu bar push the top of the fullscreen window down instead of covering it like it does with atom IDE

PS I dont want to simply 'maximize' my apps on the main desktop, I want them to go fullscreen on separate desktops but I just want a way to force the menu bar to stop hiding.

This is driving me absolutely insane. I recently got a Macbook running macOS Sierra, and I do like the fullscreen app/multiple desktop feature as well as the 3 finger swipe gesture to switch between fullscreen apps and the desktop. Its become an integral part of my workflow - BUT

The menu bar hides automatically when I switch to fullscreen apps, which is so irritating. I use the Macbook for development, and I often will have atom IDE in one fullscreen, and chrome in another, and I will 3 finger swipe between them to code and then test.

But I often need to access the menu bar in both full screen apps, and currently I have to wait for it to decide to show when I move my mouse to the top of the screen, and then theres the times when I move my mouse too close to the top of the screen and it shows when I DONT want it to, and it covers up my file tabs in atom IDE, then I have to move the mouse down and wait for the menu bar to GO AWAY so I can change which file Im working on.

Im playing this constant irritating game of peekaboo with the stupid menu bar in full screen apps.

There MUST be a way to make the menu bar STAY at all times, surely? Either a global setting, or perhaps a per-app setting, maybe even editing the plist?

PS I dont want to simply 'maximize' my apps on the main desktop, I want them to go fullscreen on separate desktops but I just want a way to force the menu bar to stop hiding.

This is driving me absolutely insane. I recently got a Macbook running macOS Sierra, and I do like the fullscreen app/multiple desktop feature as well as the 3 finger swipe gesture to switch between fullscreen apps and the desktop. Its become an integral part of my workflow - BUT

The menu bar hides automatically when I switch to fullscreen apps, which is so irritating. I use the Macbook for development, and I often will have atom IDE in one fullscreen, and chrome in another, and I will 3 finger swipe between them to code and then test.

But I often need to access the menu bar in both full screen apps, and currently I have to wait for it to decide to show when I move my mouse to the top of the screen, and then theres the times when I move my mouse too close to the top of the screen and it shows when I DONT want it to, and it covers up my file tabs in atom IDE, then I have to move the mouse down and wait for the menu bar to GO AWAY so I can change which file Im working on.

Im playing this constant irritating game of peekaboo with the stupid menu bar in full screen apps.

There MUST be a way to make the menu bar STAY at all times, surely? Either a global setting, or perhaps a per-app setting, maybe even editing the plist? Or at the very least, make the menu bar push the top of the fullscreen window down instead of covering it like it does with atom IDE

PS I dont want to simply 'maximize' my apps on the main desktop, I want them to go fullscreen on separate desktops but I just want a way to force the menu bar to stop hiding.

Source Link
Matthew
  • 353
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11

MacOS Sierra - Full screen/multi desktop WITH menu bar

This is driving me absolutely insane. I recently got a Macbook running macOS Sierra, and I do like the fullscreen app/multiple desktop feature as well as the 3 finger swipe gesture to switch between fullscreen apps and the desktop. Its become an integral part of my workflow - BUT

The menu bar hides automatically when I switch to fullscreen apps, which is so irritating. I use the Macbook for development, and I often will have atom IDE in one fullscreen, and chrome in another, and I will 3 finger swipe between them to code and then test.

But I often need to access the menu bar in both full screen apps, and currently I have to wait for it to decide to show when I move my mouse to the top of the screen, and then theres the times when I move my mouse too close to the top of the screen and it shows when I DONT want it to, and it covers up my file tabs in atom IDE, then I have to move the mouse down and wait for the menu bar to GO AWAY so I can change which file Im working on.

Im playing this constant irritating game of peekaboo with the stupid menu bar in full screen apps.

There MUST be a way to make the menu bar STAY at all times, surely? Either a global setting, or perhaps a per-app setting, maybe even editing the plist?

PS I dont want to simply 'maximize' my apps on the main desktop, I want them to go fullscreen on separate desktops but I just want a way to force the menu bar to stop hiding.