Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 22, 2016 at 4:40 comment added Monomeeth You are probably being a bit too obsessive, but that's okay. :) Are these your images, or have they been provided to you? I'm just wondering how much flexibility there is in what you have to work with, because looking at the images in your comparison it's highly likely that the original images were in some sort of vector format (e.g. .eps, .svg, .ai. .cdr, etc) and were drawn using software such as Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw. If these have been provided to you, perhaps you could ask for 300dpi .tif versions of the images instead and give these a go in your Word docs.
Nov 21, 2016 at 22:04 comment added Dominik Roszkowski I use the current Office 365 so it's Word 2016 16.0.7426.1015. I think the problem is in the jpg compression and is visible for example in this comparison - Word on the right. Perhaps I'm a bit too obsessive about it, but if it's achievable, then I would like to try it.
Nov 21, 2016 at 20:58 comment added Monomeeth I forgot to mention LibreOffice, so have added it to my answer. Your question doesn't specify what version of MS Word you're using? Since you referenced PDF Creator I know it's a Windows version, but which one? I have published hundreds (maybe thousands) of documents using both the Windows and Mac versions of MS Word and wonder why you're having issues with image quality? Seems to me that perhaps you need to address that issue, as MS Word (especially 2010 and above) already offers a robust solution for converting MS Word documents to high quality PDFs. What types of images are you using?
Nov 21, 2016 at 20:50 history edited Monomeeth CC BY-SA 3.0
Added info about LibreOffice.
Nov 21, 2016 at 20:18 comment added Dominik Roszkowski Using Adobe Acrobat Pro may work for me, but I hope to repeat the process in few weeks. Perhaps I could use another account then, but I assume that it would violate the license. Thanks for the answer :)
Nov 21, 2016 at 12:10 history answered Monomeeth CC BY-SA 3.0