Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 31, 2016 at 13:05 comment added Suma While searching now, I have found another user which tried to get this working. It worked on one computer for him and did not on another, . In his case the cause was USB device driver. See Bitlocker problem. I am not sure if I will want to going through decryppting my OS again just to test if I can get it working too. :(
May 31, 2016 at 12:53 comment added Suma I am quite sure I did not remove too many. The startup key was still present and listed as a protector, and it was referencing the correct key (the key ID on the USB matched the protector ID). Still both GUI and command line unlock was unable to find the key on the USB. After that I gave up and decided to rather encrypt the OS drive and bear the performance penalty (it will probably be not that bad anyway) rather than fighting with little used corners.
May 31, 2016 at 11:36 history edited A71 CC BY-SA 3.0
Removed path to root, this is not required, you only have to define target device of the external key file. + Added simulated auto unlock. + Explicit command
May 31, 2016 at 11:14 comment added A71 Two things are happening here. 1. I expect after adding protectors and deleting them I think you might have deleted too many. You can always view them with manage-bde D: -protectors -get. - 2. Your expectations of the use case (steps with the software) do not match what the software can actually do. The GUI is limited compared to cmd/powershell. Please update your question with a step by step expectation and I will update my answer accordingly. Start with "- I turn on my computer." This will force you to be explicit on what you want.
May 31, 2016 at 7:33 comment added Suma Still no luck. When I removed the password, the drive is still not unlocked on startup. When I click on the drive to open it, a window appears with an option "Load key from USB drive", but when I click it, an error shows: "A valid USB key wasn't detected". The BEK file is present on the USB, but somehow it is now found. As I have removed the recovery password protector before (it was the only password protector I had), I guess I have lost the drive. (This does not matter - it was just a testing drive, I expected something may go wrong).
May 30, 2016 at 14:23 comment added A71 Password will always take priority when it exists. If you use the GUI, click the blue sentence below the password box and then click the line "Load key from USB drive" ) it then will check for *.bek files in the root location of other (USB) drives. If you do not want the GUI to ask you for a password you will have to remove the password protector. The a clickable blue link will appear when you unlock the drive without a password box.
May 30, 2016 at 13:54 comment added Suma I was not successful so far. Each attempt to use Manage-bde D: -protectors -add -StartupKey "F:\\" or Manage-bde D: -protectors -add -RecoveryKey "F:\\"creates a new key or recovery key on my USB stick, but the key is not used, the OS asks me for a password on first access.
May 30, 2016 at 13:36 comment added Suma I have tried this and I am afraid it is not complete. The disk is not unlocked when I start the computer, I need to enter a long numeric password. When I check Manage-bde X: -protectors -get, the external key is listed as a file name only, with no path to the flash disk. I will try changing that with -protectors add.
May 30, 2016 at 13:19 vote accept Suma
May 30, 2016 at 13:34
May 30, 2016 at 11:14 comment added Suma \ needs to be escaped as \\ - I cannot edit myselft as this is not 6 characters. :(
May 27, 2016 at 18:49 history answered A71 CC BY-SA 3.0