Skip to main content
Fixed title typo
Link
Suma
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 37

Encrypt data drive with USB key without encyptionencrypting the OS drive

Clarified.
Source Link
Suma
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 37

In my computer I have a SSD with an OS installed, and a HDD with two partitions, one of them I use to store my user profiles and other potentially sensitive data.

I would like to encrypt one of the data partitions, if possible without encrypting the OS disk, and I would like to have my key on a USB drive. When trying to use Bit-locker, I am offered to use the USB key only for my system drive, only password option is offered for the data drive. I assume if I encrypt the OS drive, I will be able to use the same key for the data drive (this was working for me on Windows 7 beforeautomatic unlock), however I would prefer not encryptionencrypting my OS drive, because I see no reason to lower its performance, as the OS drive does not contain any data I consider sensitive.

Is this possible somehow?

In my computer I have a SSD with an OS installed, and a HDD with two partitions, one of them I use to store my user profiles and other potentially sensitive data.

I would like to encrypt one of the data partitions, if possible without encrypting the OS disk, and I would like to have my key on a USB drive. When trying to use Bit-locker, I am offered to use the USB key only for my system drive, only password option is offered for the data drive. I assume if I encrypt the OS drive, I will be able to use the same key for the data drive (this was working for me on Windows 7 before), however I would prefer not encryption my OS drive, because I see no reason to lower its performance, as the OS drive does not contain any data I consider sensitive.

Is this possible somehow?

In my computer I have a SSD with an OS installed, and a HDD with two partitions, one of them I use to store my user profiles and other potentially sensitive data.

I would like to encrypt one of the data partitions, if possible without encrypting the OS disk, and I would like to have my key on a USB drive. When trying to use Bit-locker, I am offered to use the USB key only for my system drive, only password option is offered for the data drive. I assume if I encrypt the OS drive, I will be able to use the same key for the data drive (automatic unlock), however I would prefer not encrypting my OS drive, because I see no reason to lower its performance, as the OS drive does not contain any data I consider sensitive.

Is this possible somehow?

Source Link
Suma
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 37

Encrypt data drive with USB key without encyption OS drive

In my computer I have a SSD with an OS installed, and a HDD with two partitions, one of them I use to store my user profiles and other potentially sensitive data.

I would like to encrypt one of the data partitions, if possible without encrypting the OS disk, and I would like to have my key on a USB drive. When trying to use Bit-locker, I am offered to use the USB key only for my system drive, only password option is offered for the data drive. I assume if I encrypt the OS drive, I will be able to use the same key for the data drive (this was working for me on Windows 7 before), however I would prefer not encryption my OS drive, because I see no reason to lower its performance, as the OS drive does not contain any data I consider sensitive.

Is this possible somehow?