Skip to main content

client Which hostname identification confusionwill a web server determine for a client via reverse DNS?

deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
potato
  • 103
  • 5

Excerpt from the book I am reading:

Most web servers can be configured to convert client IP addresses into client host- nameshostnames, using “reverse DNS.” Web servers can use the client hostname for detailed access control and logging.

I am a little confused about client hostname identification. I thought the clients don't even have hostnames, just IP addresses. I understand that servers are identified by hostnames a.k.a. domain names, but I can't make the connection between identifying browser by hostname. What exactly do you identify when identifying client hostname? Just the IP address?

Excerpt from the book I am reading:

Most web servers can be configured to convert client IP addresses into client host- names, using “reverse DNS.” Web servers can use the client hostname for detailed access control and logging.

I am a little confused about client hostname identification. I thought the clients don't even have hostnames, just IP addresses. I understand that servers are identified by hostnames a.k.a. domain names, but I can't make the connection between identifying browser by hostname. What exactly do you identify when identifying client hostname? Just the IP address?

Excerpt from the book I am reading:

Most web servers can be configured to convert client IP addresses into client hostnames, using “reverse DNS.” Web servers can use the client hostname for detailed access control and logging.

I am a little confused about client hostname identification. I thought the clients don't even have hostnames, just IP addresses. I understand that servers are identified by hostnames a.k.a. domain names, but I can't make the connection between identifying browser by hostname. What exactly do you identify when identifying client hostname? Just the IP address?

Source Link
potato
  • 103
  • 5

client hostname identification confusion

Excerpt from the book I am reading:

Most web servers can be configured to convert client IP addresses into client host- names, using “reverse DNS.” Web servers can use the client hostname for detailed access control and logging.

I am a little confused about client hostname identification. I thought the clients don't even have hostnames, just IP addresses. I understand that servers are identified by hostnames a.k.a. domain names, but I can't make the connection between identifying browser by hostname. What exactly do you identify when identifying client hostname? Just the IP address?