Skip to main content
deleted 266 characters in body
Source Link
nixda
  • 27.2k
  • 18
  • 111
  • 159

I am getting thishad the same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal all the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!

HERE IS THE ANSWER: somehowSomehow I got a bunch of HIDDEN NAMEShidden names in the worksheet. 

Here is how to UN-HIDE THEM, run this Excel VBA code:unhide them

Sub ShowNames()
Dim nmName As Name
For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names
nmName.Visible = True
Next nmName
End Sub

Sub ShowNames()  
  Dim nmName As Name  
  For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names   
    nmName.Visible = True  
  Next nmName  
End Sub  

Now, Iyou can see again all those stupid names in Name Manager and Shift-Select and DELETE!!!! Ha!delete them.

I am getting this same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!

HERE IS THE ANSWER: somehow I got a bunch of HIDDEN NAMES in the worksheet. Here is how to UN-HIDE THEM, run this Excel VBA code:

Sub ShowNames()
Dim nmName As Name
For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names
nmName.Visible = True
Next nmName
End Sub

Now, I can see all those stupid names in Name Manager and Shift-Select and DELETE!!!! Ha!

I had the same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal all the names embedded in the sheet. Somehow I got a bunch of hidden names in the worksheet. 

Here is how to unhide them

Sub ShowNames()  
  Dim nmName As Name  
  For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names   
    nmName.Visible = True  
  Next nmName  
End Sub  

Now, you can see again all names in Name Manager and delete them.

added 355 characters in body
Source Link

I am getting this same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!

HERE IS THE ANSWER: somehow I got a bunch of HIDDEN NAMES in the worksheet. Here is how to UN-HIDE THEM, run this Excel VBA code:

Sub ShowNames()
Dim nmName As Name
For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names
nmName.Visible = True
Next nmName
End Sub

Now, I can see all those stupid names in Name Manager and Shift-Select and DELETE!!!! Ha!

I am getting this same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!

I am getting this same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!

HERE IS THE ANSWER: somehow I got a bunch of HIDDEN NAMES in the worksheet. Here is how to UN-HIDE THEM, run this Excel VBA code:

Sub ShowNames()
Dim nmName As Name
For Each nmName In ActiveWorkbook.Names
nmName.Visible = True
Next nmName
End Sub

Now, I can see all those stupid names in Name Manager and Shift-Select and DELETE!!!! Ha!

Source Link

I am getting this same problem, but Name Manager does not reveal the bizillion names embedded in the sheet. I do not know where they came from. I used Defined Names meticulously and keep the manager clean. No names with errors show up, but when I go to make a copy, I get the dialogue box about 50+ times. Ugh!!!