Skip to main content
Removed info on this only happening when the laptop screen is closed. It always happens.
Source Link
ProfK
  • 2.7k
  • 21
  • 79
  • 121

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

BREAKING: I have a standalone screen that I normally use alone, with the laptop screen closed. I have now noticed that the phenomenon described above only occurs when the laptop lid is closed. When open, as expected from the settings, no screen locking takes place.

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

BREAKING: I have a standalone screen that I normally use alone, with the laptop screen closed. I have now noticed that the phenomenon described above only occurs when the laptop lid is closed. When open, as expected from the settings, no screen locking takes place.

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
Notice added Draw attention by ProfK
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by ProfK
Notice removed Draw attention by ProfK
Bounty Ended with JoPete19's answer chosen by ProfK
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/688318177646874624
Added breaking news about laptop lid.
Source Link
ProfK
  • 2.7k
  • 21
  • 79
  • 121

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

BREAKING: I have a standalone screen that I normally use alone, with the laptop screen closed. I have now noticed that the phenomenon described above only occurs when the laptop lid is closed. When open, as expected from the settings, no screen locking takes place.

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.

BREAKING: I have a standalone screen that I normally use alone, with the laptop screen closed. I have now noticed that the phenomenon described above only occurs when the laptop lid is closed. When open, as expected from the settings, no screen locking takes place.

Notice added Draw attention by ProfK
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by ProfK
Source Link
ProfK
  • 2.7k
  • 21
  • 79
  • 121

Why does my screen keep locking every two minutes or so?

I am running Windows 10 Pro, build 10586, on a Lenovo T-520. Fairly recently a behaviour has appeared, where the screen locks, and goes blank, after about 2 minutes of not using the PC.

I have checked all power settings, every single one, and nowhere, when on mains, is the PC set to hibernate or sleep after a time shorter than 2 hours.

What could be causing this very quickly triggered screen lock? To unlock, I must use the keyboard or wiggle the mouse to show the lock screen, then click the mouse to show the password input.