Skip to main content
added 237 characters in body
Source Link
alex
  • 1.1k
  • 2
  • 15
  • 22

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop (Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an Intel Core i5 CPU). The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. After this I installed new device drivers, and everything seems to be working well. Of course, the activation problem remains.

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anybody confirm this last statement?Update: Second test , I've put my HDD to a Dell laptop , so a totally different Motherboard. The same behavior : The system boot , after I see a "Getting Devices Ready" screen , and after 7-8 minutes Windows is open. I have installed new drivers and everything works fine.

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop (Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an Intel Core i5 CPU). The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. After this I installed new device drivers, and everything seems to be working well. Of course, the activation problem remains.

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anybody confirm this last statement?

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop (Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an Intel Core i5 CPU). The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. After this I installed new device drivers, and everything seems to be working well. Of course, the activation problem remains.

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Update: Second test , I've put my HDD to a Dell laptop , so a totally different Motherboard. The same behavior : The system boot , after I see a "Getting Devices Ready" screen , and after 7-8 minutes Windows is open. I have installed new drivers and everything works fine.

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop ( with IntelIntel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an intel coreIntel Core i5 CPU).

  The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. Of course, after After this I should installinstalled new device drivers, and everything seems to be working well. AlsoOf course, I have the activation problem, but at least the system is booting remains.

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anybodayanybody confirm this last statement?

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop ( with Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an intel core i5 CPU).

  The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. Of course, after this I should install new device drivers. Also, I have the activation problem, but at least the system is booting .

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anyboday confirm this last statement?

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop (Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an Intel Core i5 CPU). The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. After this I installed new device drivers, and everything seems to be working well. Of course, the activation problem remains.

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anybody confirm this last statement?

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop ( with Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC is alsohas an intel based Core I5 Pccore i5 CPU).

The System is booting , afterboots. After some seconds a screen with " Getting"Getting Devices ready" appear appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and bootbooted normally. Of course  , after this I should install new device drivers  . Also, and iI have the activation problem  , but at least the system is booting .

I don't know if this method isI'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to work if I try my hard drive on an AMD based system !!!or vice versa.

Also Additionally, I've found this link : http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html , and someonea claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

I don't know if this is trueSource: ?http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anyboday confirm this last statement? !!

I did a test.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop ( with Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC is also intel based Core I5 Pc).

The System is booting , after some seconds a screen with " Getting Devices ready" appear , and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and boot normally. Of course  , after I should install new device drivers  , and i have the activation problem  , but at least the system is booting .

I don't know if this method is going to work if I try my hard drive on an AMD based system !!!

Also , I've found this link : http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html , and someone claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

I don't know if this is true ?? !!

I did a test which shows that you can boot from a Windows 10 installation with different hardware.

I have connected my old Hard drive to a Lenovo Laptop ( with Intel Core i3 CPU , my damaged PC has an intel core i5 CPU).

The System boots. After some seconds a screen with "Getting Devices ready" appears, and after 10 minutes the system was restarted and booted normally. Of course, after this I should install new device drivers. Also, I have the activation problem, but at least the system is booting .

I'm not sure whether it will work just as well going from an Intel to an AMD based system or vice versa.

Additionally, I've found a claim that : "... Unlike Windows 7. Windows 8/10 is very forgiving. If you take out the HD and put in another MB, Windows will boot and recognize the missing drivers and will attempt to install them ..."

Source: http://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/16276-moving-current-hdd-win10-another-pc-different-motherboard.html

Could anyboday confirm this last statement?

added 403 characters in body
Source Link
alex
  • 1.1k
  • 2
  • 15
  • 22
Loading
Source Link
alex
  • 1.1k
  • 2
  • 15
  • 22
Loading