Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackStats/status/1489433722139074570
Became Hot Network Question
added 14 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
whuber
  • 328.5k
  • 61
  • 768
  • 1.3k

I know that pearsonPearson correlation is sensitive to outliers, unlike spearmanSpearman correlation. I I am trying to generate data ( letslet's say with at least 30 points) that will maximize the difference between these two methods. I was trying to generate some points in an ascending linear direction, and then one outlier point in the opposite direction. itIt indeed showed a big difference in the coefficients, but not as much as iI wanted. anyAny ideas  ? thanks!

I know that pearson is sensitive to outliers, unlike spearman. I am trying to generate data ( lets say with at least 30 points) that will maximize the difference between these two methods. I was trying to generate some points in an ascending linear direction, and then one outlier point in the opposite direction. it indeed showed a big difference in the coefficients, but not as much as i wanted. any ideas  ? thanks!

I know that Pearson correlation is sensitive to outliers, unlike Spearman correlation. I am trying to generate data (let's say with at least 30 points) that will maximize the difference between these two methods. I was trying to generate some points in an ascending linear direction, and then one outlier point in the opposite direction. It indeed showed a big difference in the coefficients, but not as much as I wanted. Any ideas?

Source Link

Correlations - Pearson and Spearman

I know that pearson is sensitive to outliers, unlike spearman. I am trying to generate data ( lets say with at least 30 points) that will maximize the difference between these two methods. I was trying to generate some points in an ascending linear direction, and then one outlier point in the opposite direction. it indeed showed a big difference in the coefficients, but not as much as i wanted. any ideas ? thanks!