Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 3, 2020 at 13:14 comment added anjama I don't expect my example to by the picked answer by any means, and I personally do think the other answers are interesting, and certainly address what the OP was probably more expecting. With that said, OP was also asking for motivational stuff as well. Having given college freshman their first intro to stats in the past, I know how hard is to get them engaged in it, and I'm hoping that people seeing my answer will encourage people to be more creative about providing big picture ideas and applications that help make the statistics more engaging to students.
Mar 3, 2020 at 13:07 comment added Nick Cox The question is asking for "graphics/gifs which anyone has that very clearly illustrate a statistics concept". Your graphic doesn't do anything for me but illustrate that data on species occurrence and environmental predictors allow predictions of suitability, which is fine by me (I've done analyses of this kind myself). The graphic is pleasant but no more, so sorry, but you've not shifted my view (or as yet got any upvotes either).
Mar 3, 2020 at 13:00 comment added anjama @NickCox The OP asked for an image showing a statistics concept (no mention of actual topic), and preferred something that would be motivating. Is building a model not a statistics concept? Perhaps not a basic one, like a t-test or the central limit theorem, but I would certainly consider it one. And as a more big picture concept, it might be more motivating for students just starting statistics by showing them what they will eventually be able to accomplish. I'm literally saying they can use statistical models to discover new species; try making a t-test that interesting for students.
Mar 3, 2020 at 12:05 comment added Nick Cox I can't see that this answers the question at all.
Mar 2, 2020 at 15:39 history edited anjama CC BY-SA 4.0
add source to image description
S Mar 2, 2020 at 15:33 history answered anjama CC BY-SA 4.0
S Mar 2, 2020 at 15:33 history made wiki Post Made Community Wiki by anjama