Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Taylan Aydinli
  • 4.4k
  • 15
  • 40
  • 33

I have one question after reading your explanation: Could it be that you never did a

git checkout master
git pull origin
git checkout my_new_feature

before doing the 'git rebase/merge master' in your feature branch?

Because your master branch won't update automatically from you're friendsyour friend's repository. You have to do that with the 'git pull origin'git pull origin. I.e. maybe you would always rebase from a never-changing local master branch? And then comescome push time, you are pushing in a repository which has (local) commits you never saw and thus the push fails.

I have one question after reading your explanation: Could it be that you never did a

git checkout master
git pull origin
git checkout my_new_feature

before doing the 'git rebase/merge master' in your feature branch?

Because your master branch won't update automatically from you're friends repository. You have to do that with the 'git pull origin'. I.e. maybe you would always rebase from a never-changing local master branch? And then comes push time you are pushing in a repository which has (local) commits you never saw and thus the push fails.

I have one question after reading your explanation: Could it be that you never did a

git checkout master
git pull origin
git checkout my_new_feature

before doing the 'git rebase/merge master' in your feature branch?

Because your master branch won't update automatically from your friend's repository. You have to do that with the git pull origin. I.e. maybe you would always rebase from a never-changing local master branch? And then come push time, you are pushing in a repository which has (local) commits you never saw and thus the push fails.

Source Link
knweiss
  • 473
  • 4
  • 5

I have one question after reading your explanation: Could it be that you never did a

git checkout master
git pull origin
git checkout my_new_feature

before doing the 'git rebase/merge master' in your feature branch?

Because your master branch won't update automatically from you're friends repository. You have to do that with the 'git pull origin'. I.e. maybe you would always rebase from a never-changing local master branch? And then comes push time you are pushing in a repository which has (local) commits you never saw and thus the push fails.