Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 12 at 13:46 comment added Maskim git reset --hard removed some uncomitted and not added files, this saved me ! Thank you !
Jun 12, 2023 at 11:03 comment added maltejur To add to that, if you are using Visual Studio Code, there is a even more comprehensive file timeline stackoverflow.com/questions/45976869/…
Jul 10, 2020 at 16:21 comment added a3y3 I don't see how this is a good answer. Imo this promotes laziness, just learn how to use git the right way and you won't have to be dependent on your text editor or Ctrl-Z
Apr 26, 2020 at 13:23 comment added Despertaweb Same here! I deleted the whole project without any commit at all by reset --hard and recovered whit the history of the main folder in WebStorm. Love it !
Apr 9, 2019 at 23:24 comment added Elijah Lynn Nice, good suggestion, in the case of IntelliJ family (e.g. PhpStorm, WebStorm, RubyMine, PyCharm) you can right click a filename and choose "local history > show history" and also recover that way as well. Assuming the IDE was open and tracking local changes.
Dec 6, 2016 at 22:22 comment added master_dodo This saved me today. Not major changes but still I was tired after lot of experimentation and made a thing worked until I messed up. I wonder if there is no "git" way of doing it! Reflog takes only to the commit, sad though. And I am using eclipse which doesn't save history if I close the IDE. But for a particular file, I opened that IDE and that was the major file to be done in my local changes. :P
Aug 15, 2014 at 9:48 comment added martin As an additional hint, some IDEs as eclipse also have the recent file history saved. That way, you might even be able to recover older changes after the editor was closed. That worked wonders for me.
May 30, 2013 at 20:33 comment added Czarek Tomczak This is the only way to recover unstaged changes in files after the hard reset. Saved me too ;)
May 21, 2012 at 15:30 comment added severin This is actually a very good tip, saved me a lot of times ;) And its way simpler than doing anything in git...
Jan 13, 2012 at 0:48 history answered Chris CC BY-SA 3.0