Skip to main content

Timeline for How can I reset preview data?

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
S Jul 20, 2023 at 2:03 history suggested jnfjnjtj CC BY-SA 4.0
added an additional step
Jul 19, 2023 at 1:28 vote accept jnfjnjtj
Jul 19, 2023 at 1:28 review Suggested edits
S Jul 20, 2023 at 2:03
Jul 19, 2023 at 0:09 comment added jnfjnjtj WAIT another post on that thread did solve the problem for me. I'm trying to edit your post to add the additional info but SO is experiencing too many edits right now apparently. I will accept this after I add the additional info! In case I don't make it into the edit queue, it's the simple command sudo xcode-select -s /Applications/Xcode.app that fixed it all and allowed me to run simctl via xcrun
Jul 19, 2023 at 0:03 comment added jnfjnjtj Unfortunately that linked answer isn't helpful. My settings were already all the defaults. I even deleted some of the directories the UI told me about and my XCode previews still retain all of their data, even after quitting XCode and restarting. The simctl command never became available. However - I will continue to research the simctl angle. That seems to be the ticket here.
Jul 18, 2023 at 23:47 comment added Nirmit Dagly It is a command line tool that should have been set in XCode. Follow the link to resolve this error: stackoverflow.com/questions/29108172/…
Jul 18, 2023 at 23:44 comment added jnfjnjtj I have seen that suggested before online, but I don't have simctl. What am I missing? I thought I had the full stack installed. Is simctl a separate install? (xcrun is installed)
Jul 18, 2023 at 23:39 history answered Nirmit Dagly CC BY-SA 4.0