Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

14
  • 99
    This is ridiculous. The fact that I had to Google to find this solution is sad. I'm surprised Eclipse doesn't just turn it on for projects with a .git directory. Thanks for asking this and finding a solution, as I've been banging my head against a wall for a while on this problem... Commented Nov 22, 2011 at 16:12
  • 4
    Wow, thanks a lot - this is he first place on the internet where I finally found out how to add git support to existing project (I must have recreated like 20 project so far from scratch)! Commented Apr 23, 2012 at 12:23
  • 5
    The last step in EGit is really misleading. The whole time I was thinking it is going to create new .git folder right above the project folder (this was because my project folder was two folders above...) Thanks for the answer!
    – Danail
    Commented Nov 25, 2012 at 8:44
  • 2
    In case you have your git repo outside wks, go to Show view > Git Repositories; add local repository (as explained above). Then right-click on your project and select Import Project > Import Existing Project. Commented Jul 31, 2013 at 15:56
  • 3
    Still useful in 2019 with Eclipse 2019-06. My projects all somehow lost their git connection. This is despite the repositories being visible and pointing to the correct working directories. Been looking at how to fix this for ages. Thanks! Commented Jul 31, 2019 at 12:59