Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 25, 2022 at 9:36 comment added user32882 @romainl Everyone presses Shift+Backspace when they want to delete a capital letter they just typed. It's quite counterintuitive to have to release the shift key before that.
Jan 16, 2022 at 22:04 vote accept Nik Tedig
Jan 5, 2022 at 8:41 answer added KamRa timeline score: 3
Aug 26, 2021 at 15:58 answer added Strottos timeline score: 0
May 13, 2021 at 14:47 answer added joanis timeline score: 0
May 11, 2021 at 6:04 comment added Nik Tedig @romainl I use Shift+Backspace a lot when I'm setting up defines in C++. I just hold down shift and type something, and if I make a mistake, I don't remove my finger from shift before deleting the thing that was wrong. This causes a weird looking I to be added to the line, which is very annoying.
May 10, 2021 at 6:52 comment added romainl And I have no idea what "works" means for you because Shift+Backspace is not supposed to do anything in Vim, where it is indistinguishable from Backspace. So I'm asking again, a bit differently: why are you pressing Shift+Backspace to begin with? As for the other question, if you have the desired behaviour in other contexts, then it means that the undesired behaviour is caused by something in your current context and the right course of action is to bisect your setup. Also, it is pretty obvious that, in this specific context, Vim is receiving unexpected input.
May 10, 2021 at 5:54 comment added Nik Tedig @romainl The interesting part is that I don't have the same issue anywhere else. It works fine when SSHing to my linux machine from powershell and it works fine when I normally do it in the terminal. It even works fine in other text editors like micro. I don't know why vim doesn't work.
May 7, 2021 at 18:40 comment added romainl What do you expect Shift+Backspace to do? Do you have the same issue in other terminal emulators? Other shells?
May 7, 2021 at 18:20 history asked Nik Tedig CC BY-SA 4.0