Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

26
  • I need some library to do this. Annotation needs to happen automatically through my tool.
    – Paba
    Commented Jul 15, 2011 at 8:14
  • 1
    @Kumaripaba: There are API libraries for most major languages, some are wrappers for the command line tools, others linked to native code. Alternatively, just use the command line tools directly. As you did not specify what language your tool uses, I can not recommend anything.
    – Orbling
    Commented Jul 15, 2011 at 9:35
  • thanx for the comment. I'm working with java but i thought of using the command line tool. im developing my tool as a web app. So my server is linux debian. do you know whether there's a binary for this os ? or do i have to install it from the source ?
    – Paba
    Commented Jul 15, 2011 at 10:24
  • @Kumaripaba: There is a Debian package called imagemagick, just do an install with dependencies for that package to get the command lines available machine-wide. There are two Java-based interfaces, jmagick which is JNI-based and im4java which is pure-java. Might be worth checking those out.
    – Orbling
    Commented Jul 15, 2011 at 11:43
  • 1
    If you're working with large images I'd recommend staying away from ImageMagick (or GraphicsMagick), both are slow (though gm is faster, out of the two). I'd stick with doing it in ffmpeg if at all possible, it's orders of magnitude faster at processing large images, adding text etc. But I'd rec using -qscale:v 2 with ffmpeg to preserve quality. Just my 2c
    – Mint
    Commented Jan 11, 2022 at 10:45