Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • I did this, and it takes a really long time for vim to start up now when I run vim somefile.
    – mbomb007
    Commented Nov 24, 2020 at 15:15
  • @mbomb007, FWIW, I wrote this answer a few weeks after starting a gig for $BIG_PHARMA where I had to work on one of their beaten-up Lenovos and figured out that exact setup. The whole machine was a slug, mind you, but I didn't notice any particular startup slowdown. Long startup times can be due to Vim's inability/difficulty to connect to the X server. See if you have all the config done properly.
    – romainl
    Commented Nov 24, 2020 at 17:25