Skip to main content
added 427 characters in body
Source Link
Wolfpack'08
  • 4.1k
  • 13
  • 49
  • 80

Rig description:

I've installed Debian in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL) on Windows 10.

  • The host means Windows 10.
  • The box means my WSL-Debian box/container.

Goal:

  • I have an SSH key on WSL (my_rsa.pub);
  • I want to copy the contents of that file to the host's clipboard;
  • by running a command in the box (command-line code, not using the mouse).

Explanation:

SSH files are very long, and it doesn't make sense to copy them with the mouse cursor.

I'm also told that Debian doesn't ship with a clipboard: you need to install a clipboard? So, I don't even know where to begin to look.

What I've tried:

"Copy to clipboard" in VIM is configured and working properly, but any contents copied to the 'clipboard' are removed from the 'clipboard' once VIM is closed; similarly, Nano has a CTRL+u function to cut text, and its clipboard does not survive outside of Nano.

Rig description:

I've installed Debian in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL) on Windows 10.

  • The host means Windows 10.
  • The box means my WSL-Debian box/container.

Goal:

  • I have an SSH key on WSL (my_rsa.pub);
  • I want to copy the contents of that file to the host's clipboard;
  • by running a command in the box (command-line code, not using the mouse).

Explanation:

SSH files are very long, and it doesn't make sense to copy them with the mouse cursor.

I'm also told that Debian doesn't ship with a clipboard: you need to install a clipboard? So, I don't even know where to begin to look.

Rig description:

I've installed Debian in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL) on Windows 10.

  • The host means Windows 10.
  • The box means my WSL-Debian box/container.

Goal:

  • I have an SSH key on WSL (my_rsa.pub);
  • I want to copy the contents of that file to the host's clipboard;
  • by running a command in the box (command-line code, not using the mouse).

Explanation:

SSH files are very long, and it doesn't make sense to copy them with the mouse cursor.

I'm also told that Debian doesn't ship with a clipboard: you need to install a clipboard? So, I don't even know where to begin to look.

What I've tried:

"Copy to clipboard" in VIM is configured and working properly, but any contents copied to the 'clipboard' are removed from the 'clipboard' once VIM is closed; similarly, Nano has a CTRL+u function to cut text, and its clipboard does not survive outside of Nano.

Source Link
Wolfpack'08
  • 4.1k
  • 13
  • 49
  • 80

Copy the contents of a file to clipboard from WSL to Windows?

Rig description:

I've installed Debian in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL) on Windows 10.

  • The host means Windows 10.
  • The box means my WSL-Debian box/container.

Goal:

  • I have an SSH key on WSL (my_rsa.pub);
  • I want to copy the contents of that file to the host's clipboard;
  • by running a command in the box (command-line code, not using the mouse).

Explanation:

SSH files are very long, and it doesn't make sense to copy them with the mouse cursor.

I'm also told that Debian doesn't ship with a clipboard: you need to install a clipboard? So, I don't even know where to begin to look.