Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • didn't work. Details: me@desktop:/opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/platform-tools$ sudo adb kill-server sudo: adb: command not found me@desktop:/opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/platform-tools$ adb kill-server me@desktop:/opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/platform-tools$ sudo adb start-server sudo: adb: command not found
    – MountainX
    Commented Apr 1, 2011 at 7:37
  • adb is not in the path of your superuser. Enter which adb to find out which path it's in, then add that to root's path.
    – EboMike
    Commented Apr 1, 2011 at 7:48
  • Hope you can read this. (I don't know how to format comments to include newlines.) adb IS in the path of my root user. I pasted the which adb command in my original post. The path is /opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/platform-tools/adb. $ sudo -s root@desktop:# echo $PATH /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/tools:/opt/android-sdk-linux_x86/platform-tools
    – MountainX
    Commented Apr 1, 2011 at 8:00
  • 1
    Here's a strange thing. I get different results from "which adb" depending on whether I run it as root or run it with sudo. Here's output $ sudo which adb $
    – MountainX
    Commented Apr 1, 2011 at 8:02
  • Specify the full path then when you run adb as root.
    – EboMike
    Commented Apr 1, 2011 at 8:16