Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 1
    Thank you so much for the above answer. I want to change this as you said in my my.cnf. But when I open that file, it opens only in read-only mode. Any helps or reference links???. I use Ubuntu 16.04 Commented Oct 29, 2020 at 3:20
  • 2
    (1) Change the file permission of file my.cnf by using the command "chmod". (2) Perform changes in my.cnf (3) set it read-only again (change file permission again using "chmod") (4) restart mysql Commented Oct 29, 2020 at 6:34
  • I have removed that option. but still I see the error Commented Sep 21, 2021 at 10:18
  • SET GLOBAL sql_mode=(SELECT REPLACE(@@sql_mode,'ONLY_FULL_GROUP_BY','')); This is working fine for me.
    – w.Daya
    Commented Oct 26, 2021 at 8:08
  • @RakeshSoni can u mention the syntax for newer versions of mysql as well as this syntax in point 3 does not allow restarting mysql server > 5.7. UPDATE: Newer versions of Mysql (e.g. 5.7.8 or above) may require slightly different syntax: [mysqld] sql-mode="STRICT_TRANS_TABLES,NO_ENGINE_SUBSTITUTION" Commented Jul 13, 2023 at 8:23