Skip to main content
replaced http://stackoverflow.com/ with https://stackoverflow.com/
Source Link
URL Rewriter Bot
URL Rewriter Bot

I've found this questionthis question on moving branch pointers without doing a checkout. Basically I want to know how to do exactly that, in SourceTree.

So for example, suppose I'm on a local branch feat/foo. I've got master too, and can fetch a few new commits from origin/master. Here's a screenshot:

sourcetree screengrab

I want to set my local master pointer from 77f97cf to 85c2fd7, where origin/master is pointing to as well, without switching branches or changing my working copy.

I've tried:

  • the context menu for the origin/master commit
  • the context menu for the master commit
  • looking through the menus
  • the extra options in the Fetch dialog
  • Google-fu that combines the info from aforementioned question and "sourcetree"

To no avail.

Is this possible in SourceTree?

I've found this question on moving branch pointers without doing a checkout. Basically I want to know how to do exactly that, in SourceTree.

So for example, suppose I'm on a local branch feat/foo. I've got master too, and can fetch a few new commits from origin/master. Here's a screenshot:

sourcetree screengrab

I want to set my local master pointer from 77f97cf to 85c2fd7, where origin/master is pointing to as well, without switching branches or changing my working copy.

I've tried:

  • the context menu for the origin/master commit
  • the context menu for the master commit
  • looking through the menus
  • the extra options in the Fetch dialog
  • Google-fu that combines the info from aforementioned question and "sourcetree"

To no avail.

Is this possible in SourceTree?

I've found this question on moving branch pointers without doing a checkout. Basically I want to know how to do exactly that, in SourceTree.

So for example, suppose I'm on a local branch feat/foo. I've got master too, and can fetch a few new commits from origin/master. Here's a screenshot:

sourcetree screengrab

I want to set my local master pointer from 77f97cf to 85c2fd7, where origin/master is pointing to as well, without switching branches or changing my working copy.

I've tried:

  • the context menu for the origin/master commit
  • the context menu for the master commit
  • looking through the menus
  • the extra options in the Fetch dialog
  • Google-fu that combines the info from aforementioned question and "sourcetree"

To no avail.

Is this possible in SourceTree?

Source Link
Jeroen
  • 62.7k
  • 44
  • 223
  • 363

Use SourceTree to move git branch pointer for non-active branches

I've found this question on moving branch pointers without doing a checkout. Basically I want to know how to do exactly that, in SourceTree.

So for example, suppose I'm on a local branch feat/foo. I've got master too, and can fetch a few new commits from origin/master. Here's a screenshot:

sourcetree screengrab

I want to set my local master pointer from 77f97cf to 85c2fd7, where origin/master is pointing to as well, without switching branches or changing my working copy.

I've tried:

  • the context menu for the origin/master commit
  • the context menu for the master commit
  • looking through the menus
  • the extra options in the Fetch dialog
  • Google-fu that combines the info from aforementioned question and "sourcetree"

To no avail.

Is this possible in SourceTree?