Skip to main content

Timeline for Optimize in CMake by default

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 18, 2017 at 7:50 comment added Angew is no longer proud of SO @jww What my answer says is what I've inferred from years of following the CMake mailing list. I've never seen anyone recommend not using CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE; in fact, if(CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE) is sometimes used in CMakeLists to determine that a single-config generator is running. Therefore, I consider it best practice to always specify it.
Sep 18, 2017 at 0:42 comment added jww "recommended usage of CMake is to always specify CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE explicitly on the command line ..." - Not according to this Debian bug report: CMake sets the default optimization level to -O3.
Jan 6, 2017 at 16:47 vote accept marmistrz
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:22 history edited Angew is no longer proud of SO CC BY-SA 3.0
Clarify scope
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:11 history edited Angew is no longer proud of SO CC BY-SA 3.0
Clarify scope
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:09 comment added Angew is no longer proud of SO @roalz The OP wants rather non-standard usage of CMake in the first place. I will however add a suitable disclaimer.
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:08 comment added Angew is no longer proud of SO @marmistrz I've added an update on why this happens, and how to "reset" it. I am trying to think of a way to achieve an implicit reset, but it's not easy.
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:08 comment added roalz I don't remember where I've read it, but it's considered bad practice to set CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE from inside a CMakeLists.txt. Prefer to pass it from CMake command line.
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:06 comment added marmistrz This works until I make a debug build. After a single debug build, all the subsequent ones are debug builds, even if cmake .. is used
Dec 28, 2016 at 12:02 history answered Angew is no longer proud of SO CC BY-SA 3.0