Skip to main content
added 11 characters in body
Source Link
Neuron
  • 5.6k
  • 5
  • 42
  • 61

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a ctrl + cCtrl + C).

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a ctrl + c).

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a Ctrl + C).

edited tags
Link
kmario23
  • 60.1k
  • 15
  • 168
  • 156

I am just really new to using Linux, so this may sound really silly to you guys. So I request you to be patient with this beginner.

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a ctrl + c).

I am just really new to using Linux, so this may sound really silly to you guys. So I request you to be patient with this beginner.

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a ctrl + c).

In Windows, I would have done a search for finding a word inside a folder. Similarly, I want to know if a specific word occurs inside a directory containing many sub-directories and files. My searches for grep syntax shows I must specify the filename, i.e. grep string filename.

Now, I do not know the filename, so what do I do? A friend suggested to do grep -nr string, but I don't know what this means and I got no results with it (there is no response until I issue a ctrl + c).

sp/gr corrected; removed salutation/tagline; reformatted; edited title
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
kiki
  • 13.9k
  • 17
  • 50
  • 62
Loading